Sensenbrenner Stivers Walorski Sessions Suozzi Walters, Mimi Shea-Porter Takano Wasserman Sherman Taylor Schultz Waters, Maxine Shimkus Tenney Thompson (PA) Shuster Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Simpson Thornberry Smith (MO) Tipton Welch Smith (NE) Titus Westerman Williams Smith (NJ) Trott Smith (WA) Wilson (SC) Turner Smucker Vela. Womack Young (IA) Stefanik Wagner Stewart Zeldin

#### NOES-163

Gallagher McKinley Adams McNerney Aguilar Garrett Amash Gomez McSally Barr Gottheimer Moulton Barragán Graves (MO) Napolitano Bera Green, Al Nolan Green Gene Bergman O'Halleran Gutiérrez Beyer Pallone Hanabusa Paulsen Bishop (GA) Hastings Payne Bishop (MI) Herrera Beutler Pearce Blum Hice, Jody B. Perry Blumenauer Holding Peterson Blunt Rochester Hoyer Pingree Hudson Bost. Poe (TX) Brady (PA) Hunter Poliquin Brownley (CA) Jackson Lee Price (NC) Jayapal Jenkins (KS) Capuano Raskin Carbajal Renacci Cárdenas Jenkins (WV) Richmond Carson (IN) Johnson (OH) Roe (TN) Carter (GA) Johnson, E. B. Rogers (AL) Castor (FL) Jones Rokita Cicilline Jordan Ros-Lehtinen Clark (MA) Joyce (OH) Rosen Kelly (IL) Clarke (NY) Roskam Cleaver Kihuen Roybal-Allard Coffman Kilmer Kinzinger Cohen Rush Comer Knight Ryan (OH) Connolly Krishnamoorthi Sánchez Correa Kuster (NH) Schakowsky Costa LaHood Schiff Crawford Lamb Schrader Lance Crist Scott (VA) Crowley Langevin Serrano Cuellar Larsen (WA) Sewell (AL) Cummings Larson (CT) Sinema Davis, Danny Lee Levin Soto Thompson (CA) DeGette Lewis (GA) Thompson (MS) DelBene LoBiondo Denham Loebsack Torres Upton DeSantis Lofgren Valadao Lowenthal Dingell Duncan (SC) Vargas Lowey Luján, Ben Ray Veasey Emmer Visclosky Engel Lynch Eshoo MacArthur Walberg Watson Coleman Esty (CT) Maloney, Carolyn B. Wenstrup Evans Fitzpatrick Mast Wittman Foxx Matsui Woodall Yoho Fudge McEachin McGovern Young (AK) Gaetz

## ANSWERED "PRESENT"—1

Tonko

### NOT VOTING-80

Aderholt Gabbard Loudermilk Arrington Gallego Maloney, Sean Garamendi Marchant Barton Gohmert Marino Gonzalez (TX) Beatty Meeks Goodlatte Blackburn Moolenaar Boyle, Brendan Gowdy Moore Granger Nea1 Brooks (AL) Grijalva Newhouse Brown (MD) Higgins (NY) Norcross Buck Issa. O'Rourke Castro (TX) Johnson (GA) Pascrell Clay Johnson, Sam Pelosi Clyburn Kaptur Peters Costello (PA) Keating Pittenger Curbelo (FL) Khanna Polis Delaney Kind Quigley Doggett King (IA) Ratcliffe Doyle, Michael King (NY) Reed Rice (NY) Labrador Duncan (TN) Rogers (KY) Lawrence Espaillat Lawson (FL) Rooney, Thomas Estes (KS) Lieu, Ted

Sarbanes Schneider Scott, David Sires Smith (TX) Speier Swalwell (CA) Tsongas Velázquez Walker Walz Wilson (FL) Yarmuth Yoder

#### $\square$ 1223

So the Journal was approved. The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

ADJOURNMENT FROM FRIDAY, MAY 18, 2018, TO MONDAY, MAY 21, 2018

Mr. CARTER of Texas. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet on Monday, May 21, 2018, when it shall convene at noon for morning-hour debate and 2 p.m. for legislative business.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. Poe of Texas). Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Texas?

There was no objection.

PERMISSION FOR MEMBER TO BE CONSIDERED AS FIRST SPONSOR OF H. CON. RES. 72

Mr. SESSIONS. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that I be considered as the first sponsor of H. Con. Res. 72, originally introduced by Representative Meehan of Pennsylvania, for the purposes of adding cosponsors and requesting reprintings pursuant to clause 7 of rule XII.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Texas?

There was no objection.

# SUPPORTING THE PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY, COMMUNITY

(Mr. GOTTHEIMER asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 minute.)

Mr. GOTTHEIMER. Mr. Speaker, I rise today for the Paramus community and those who lost their lives in the Route 80 bus accident in Mt. Olive, New Jersey, and to all those who were injured. My heart breaks for the 38 fifth grade students and seven adults involved in yesterday's horrific bus accident.

On a day when students from East Brook Middle School should have been enjoying their class trip, instead, they experienced every parent's worst nightmare. As a father, I am praying for every parent, child, teacher, friend, and administrator; and I know I will be hugging my kids extra tight this evening.

I join the Paramus community as they come together to support all those affected in this tragedy, especially the family of the student who lost their life and the family of Jennifer Williamson, the fifth grade social studies teacher chaperoning the trip, who lost her life.

May God rest their souls.

Savannah Clark, an East Brook Middle School sixth grader, remembered

her teacher saying: She made things really, really fun for us kids, but now she can't anymore.

Mrs. Williamson, your care for our community will never be forgotten.

I also want to thank the first responders, doctors, and nurses who responded so quickly to help students, care for the victims, and investigate how such a horrible tragedy could ever have happened.

THE ATTACK ON AMERICANS BY PRESIDENT ERDOGAN'S SECURITY FORCE

(Mr. POE of Texas asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 minute and to revise and extend his remarks.)

Mr. POE of Texas. Mr. Speaker, on May 16, 2017, as Turkish President Erdogan visited the Nation's Capital, his gestapo security forces unleashed a brutal assault on peaceful American demonstrators. Many of them were Armenian Americans who were exercising their constitutional right of free speech.

As Erdogan looked on, his thugs demonstrated their intolerance for free expression and contempt for America. This illegal behavior is absolutely intolerable by any security force, especially on U.S. soil against Americans.

Fifteen members of the Turkish security detail were originally charged for this unprovoked attack, but now there are only four. Why? It is clear from video recordings and witness accounts that more than four Turks participated on this assault on free speech.

I contacted the Justice Department and asked why charges were dropped against 11 guards, but they refused to give an explanation. The DOJ should not be complicit in Erdogan's assault on democracy. The DOJ must enforce American law. It must not make backroom deals with want-to-be dictators.

And that is just the way it is.

# REFUGIO OIL SPILL

(Mr. CARBAJAL asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 minute.)

Mr. CARBAJAL. Mr. Speaker, this week marks 3 years since the Refugio/Plains pipeline failure spilled more than 100,000 gallons of crude oil along the Gaviota coast in my district. Black oil slick coated our beaches and marine life, costing over \$96 million to clean up and hurting our local economy.

That spill occurred 3 years after Congress unanimously passed the Pipeline Safety Act of 2011. This law directed PHMSA to update key pipeline safety standards, requiring the installation of automatic and remote control shutoff valves, including leak detection technology.

However, nearly 7 years later, 20 of the pipeline safety directives in that legislation have not been enacted. During the Plains oil spill, it took operators over 2 hours to find the source of the leak.