was to keep people safe and bring people together. I see that as my job here in Congress. This is my 14th and last year. I am not running for re-election.

Some people in this body call themselves leaders. A title does not make you a leader, Mr. Speaker. It is the actions that make you a leader. I believe that true leaders lead from the heart. I believe that leaders have the heart of a servant. I believe that when I got elected to this office, my job was to serve the people of the Eighth District of Washington and to put their needs before my needs.

Mr. Kelly here and I are friends. He comes to work every day putting my needs before his. I do the same. We formed a friendship, a bond, and we want to be honest with each other. Honesty is okay. But honesty is a moment in time. We need integrity and consistent honesty.

Servanthood and integrity is what this country should be built upon, that is what leaders are, not calling for each one of us to say, you are not welcome here anytime, anyplace, anywhere. That is not leadership. That is division.

Leadership, heart of the servant, integrity. That creates a team that we all want to be a part of. That gives this country the opportunity to be the leader of the world. You can each do that across this country, Mr. Speaker—we can all do that—by being leaders in our community. Beginning in the White House. Beginning from that Oval Office, speak with civility. Beginning here in Congress, speak with civility. If you are a member of a State legislature, speak with civility. Serve with the heart of a servant.

Mr. Speaker, it is simple: respect and love your neighbor.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The Chair will remind all persons in the gallery that they are here as guests of the House and that any manifestation of approval or disapproval of proceedings is a violation of the rules of the House.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until noon today.

Accordingly (at 10 o'clock and 45 minutes a.m.), the House stood in recess.

PROCEEDINGS OF FORMER MEMBERS PROGRAM

The following proceedings were held before the House convened for morning-hour debate:

UNITED STATES ASSOCIATION OF FORMER MEMBERS OF CONGRESS 2018 ANNUAL REPORT TO CONGRESS

The meeting was called to order by the Honorable Martin Frost, vice president of the United States Association of Former Members of Congress Association, at 8 a.m.

PRAYER

The Chaplain, the Reverend Patrick J. Conroy, offered the following prayer:

Lord God of history, we thank You for this day when former Members return to Congress, to continue in a less official manner their service to our Nation—and to this noble institution.

May their presence here bring a moment of pause, where current Members consider the profiles they now form for future generations of Americans.

May all former Members be rewarded for their contributions to this constitutional Republic and continue to work and pray that the goodness and justice of this beloved country be proclaimed to the nations.

Bless all former Members who have died since last year's meeting, 17 in all. May their families and their constituents be comforted during a time of mourning and forever know our gratitude for the sacrifices made in service to the House.

Finally, bless those here gathered, that they might bring joy and hope to the present age and supportive companionship to one another. Together, we call upon Your holy name now and forever.

Amen.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Honorable Martin Frost led the Pledge of Allegiance as follows:

I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

Mr. FROST. The Chair now recognizes the president of the U.S. Association of Former Members of Congress, the Honorable Cliff Stearns of Florida, to address the Members.

Mr. STEARNS. Good morning, and thank you, Mr. Speaker, and thank you, Father Conroy, for that wonderful blessed prayer.

It is a distinct pleasure to be here with you this morning, to be back in this revered Chamber and to see so many of my good friends and colleagues. So on behalf of the former Members of Congress, I appreciate the Speaker's invitation to return to this wonderful place and to present to the Congress the Former Members of Congress' 48th annual report.

I will be joined by some of my colleagues in reporting on FMC's activities and vision for our future. I am also submitting for the RECORD a more detailed review of our activities for the year 2017.

I. LEADERSHIP

President—Cliff Stearns (R–FL) Vice President—Martin Frost (D–TX) Secretary—Tim Petri (R–WI) Treasurer—Karen Thurman (D–FL) Immediate Past President—Barbara Kennelly (D–CT)

II. BOARD MEMBERS

The Hon. Mary Bono (R-CA) The Hon. Jack Buechner (R-MO) The Hon. Ann Marie Buerkle (R-NY) The Hon. Bob Clement (D-TN) The Hon. Jim Courter (R-NJ) The Hon. Jim Coyne (R-PA) The Hon. Byron Dorgan (D-ND) The Hon. Vic Fazio (D-CA) The Hon. Mike Ferguson (R-NJ) The Hon. Phil Gingrey (R-GA) The Hon, Dan Glickman (D-KS) The Hon. Bart Gordon (D-TN) The Hon, Lee Hamilton (D-IN) The Hon. Dennis Hertel (D-MI) The Hon. Steven Horsford (D-NV) The Hon. Jim Jones (D-OK) The Hon. Jim Kolbe (R-AZ) The Hon. Ken Kramer (R-CO) The Hon. Martin Lancaster (D-NC) The Hon. Larry LaRocco (D-ID) The Hon. Dan Maffei (D-NY) The Hon. Jim Matheson (D-UT) The Hon. Matthew McHugh (D-NY) The Hon. Jeff Miller (R-FL) The Hon. Jim Moran (D-VA) The Hon. Connie Morella (R-MD) The Hon. Randy Neugebauer (R-TX) The Hon. L.F. Payne (D-VA) The Hon. Nick Rahall (D-WV) The Hon. Ron Sarasin (R-CT) The Hon. Dick Schulze (R-PA) The Hon, David Skaggs (D-CO) The Hon. Jim Slattery (D-KS) The Hon. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) The Hon, Jim Walsh (R-NY) The Hon. Ed Whitfield (R-KY) The Hon. Albert Wynn (D-MD)

The Hon. Bob Carr (D-MI)

III. STAFF

Peter M. Weichlein—Chief Executive Officer

Sabine Schleidt—Chief Operating Officer Sharon West Witiw—Director of Community Outreach

Paul Kincaid—Director of Congressional Outreach

Patrick Egenhofer—Program Manager Lorraine Harbison—Program Manager Alexis Terai—Senior Program Officer Dongwon Kim—Program Officer Kathy Hunter—Development and Member-

ship Officer

Alia Diamond—Communications Officer Alexa Etheredge—Fellow

IV. PARTNERS

The Diplomatic Advisory Council (DAC) is an informal body of current Ambassadors posted in the nation's capital and serves as a direct outreach to our strategic allies abroad. All of our programming benefits from the input, guidance, and participation we receive from the members of DAC.

DAC Members

H.E. Wolfgang Waldner, Ambassador of Austria

H.E. Elfin Suleymanov, Ambassador of Azerbaijan

H.E. Dirk Wouters, Ambassador of Belgium H.E. Tihomir Stoytchev, Ambassador of the Republic of Bulgaria

H.E. Lars Gert Lose, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Denmark

H.E. Francisco Borja Cevallos, Ambassador of Ecuador

H.E. David O'Sullivan, European Union Ambassador

H.E. Kirsti Kauppi, Ambassador of Finland H.E. Emily Haber, Ambassador Designate of the Federal Republic of Germany

H.E. Geir H. Haarde, Ambassador of Iceland

H.E. Navtej Sarna, Ambassador of India

H.E. Budi Bowoleksono, Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia

H.E. Shinsuke J. Sugiyama, Ambassador of Japan

Ĥ.E. Cho Yoon-je, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea

H.E. Kurt Jaeger, Ambassador of the Principality of Liechtenstein