A recorded vote was ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. This is a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—ayes 229, noes 184, not voting 15, as follows:

#### [Roll No. 332]

#### AYES-229

Abraham Gosar Nunes Aderholt Gowdy Olson Allen Granger Palazzo Amodei Graves (GA) Palmer Arrington Graves (LA) Paulsen Babin Graves (MO) Pearce Griffith Bacon Perry Banks (IN) Pittenger Grothman Barletta Guthrie Poe (TX) Handel Poliquin Barr Barton Harper Posev Bergman Harris Ratcliffe Biggs Bilirakis Hartzler Reed Reichert Hensarling Bishop (MI) Herrera Beutler Renacci Bishop (UT) Hice, Jody B. Rice (SC) Blackburn Higgins (LA) Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Bost Holding Rogers (KY) Hollingsworth Brady (TX) Rohrabacher Hudson Rokita Rooney, Francis Brooks (AL) Huizenga. Brooks (IN) Hultgren Rooney, Thomas Buchanan Hunter Ros-Lehtinen Buck Hurd Bucshon Roskam Issa Budd Jenkins (KS) Ross Rothfus Burgess Jenkins (WV) Byrne Johnson (LA) Rouzer Royce (CA) Calvert Johnson (OH) Carter (GA) Johnson, Sam Russell Jordan Rutherford Carter (TX) Joyce (OH) Chabot Sanford Cheney Katko Scalise Cloud Kelly (MS) Schweikert Coffman Kelly (PA) Scott, Austin Cole King (IA) Sensenbrenner Collins (GA) King (NY) Sessions Collins (NY) Kinzinger Shimkus Comer Knight Shuster Comstock Kustoff (TN) Smith (MO) Conaway Labrador Smith (NE) LaHood Smith (NJ) Cook Costello (PA) Smith (TX) LaMalfa Cramer Lamborn Smucker Crawford Lance Stefanik Culberson Curbelo (FL) Latta Stewart Lesko Stivers Lewis (MN) Taylor Curtis Davidson LoBiondo Tenney Thompson (PA) Davis Rodney Long Loudermilk Thornberry Denham DeSantis Love Tipton DesJarlais Lucas Trott Diaz-Balart Luetkemeyer Turner Donovan MacArthur Upton Valadao Duffv Marchant Duncan (SC) Marino Wagner Duncan (TN) Marshall Walberg Walden Dunn Mast McCarthy Emmer Walker Estes (KS) McCaul Walorski McClintock Walters, Mimi Faso Ferguson Weber (TX) McHenry Fitzpatrick McKinley Webster (FL) Fleischmann McMorris Wenstrup Flores Rodgers Westerman Fortenberry McSally Williams Wilson (SC) Meadows Foxx Frelinghuysen Messer Wittman Mitchell Gaetz Womack Gallagher Moolenaar Woodall Garrett Mooney (WV) Yoder Gianforte Mullin Yoho Newhouse Gibbs Young (AK) Gohmert Noem Young (IA) Goodlatte Norman Zeldin

## NOES—184

Blumenauer Butterfield Adams Blunt Rochester Capuano Aguilar Amash Bonamici Carbajal Barragán Boyle, Brendan Carson (IN) Bass Cartwright Brady (PA) Beatty Castor (FL) Brown (MD) Castro (TX) Bera Chu, Judy Cicilline Beyer Brownley (CA) Bishop (GA) Bustos

Perlmutter Clarke (NY) Kaptur Clay Keating Peters Cleaver Kelly (IL) Peterson Clyburn Kennedy Pingree Cohen Khanna Pocan Connolly Kihnen Polis Cooper Kildee Price (NC) Correa Kilmer Quigley Costa Kind Raskin Krishnamoorthi Courtney Rice (NY) Kuster (NH) Crist Richmond Cuellar Lamb Rosen Langevin Cummings Roybal-Allard Larsen (WA) Davis (CA) Ruiz Davis, Danny Larson (CT) Ruppersberger DeFazio Lawrence Rush DeGette Lawson (FL) Ryan (OH) Delanev Lee Sánchez DeLauro Levin Sarbanes DelBene Lewis (GA) Schakowsky Demines Lieu. Ted Schiff DeSaulnier Lipinski Schneider Loebsack Deutch Schrader Dingell Lofgren Scott (VA) Lowenthal Doggett Scott, David Doyle, Michael Lowey Serrano Luián. Ben Rav F. Sewell (AL) Engel Lynch Sherman Eshoo Maloney, Carolyn B Sinema Espaillat Sires Esty (CT) Maloney, Sean Smith (WA) Evans Massie Soto Matsui Foster Suozzi McCollum Frankel (FL) Swalwell (CA) Fudge Gabbard McEachin Takano Thompson (CA) McGovern McNerney Gallego Thompson (MS) Gomez Meeks Gonzalez (TX) Titus Meng Tonko Gottheimer Moore Torres Green, Al Moulton Tsongas Green, Gene Murphy (FL) Grijalva Vargas Nadler Napolitano Veasey Hastings Vela Heck Neal Higgins (NY) Nolan Velázquez Visclosky Himes Norcross O'Halleran Hoyer Wasserman Huffman O'Rourke Schultz Waters, Maxine Javapal Pallone Watson Coleman Jeffries Panetta Johnson (GA) Pascrell Welch Wilson (FL) Johnson, E. B. Pavne Jones Yarmuth

## NOT VOTING—15

Black Gutiérrez Shea-Porter Cárdenas Hanabusa Simpson Clark (MA) Jackson Lee Speier Crowley Lujan Grisham, Walz Ellison M. Garamendi Roby

### $\square$ 1344

So the resolution was agreed to.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

Stated against:

Ms. CLARK of Massachusetts. Mr. Speaker, I was unavoidably detained. Had I been present, I would have voted "nay" on rollcall No. 332.

#### PERSONAL EXPLANATION

Mr. SIMPSON. Mr. Speaker, for personal reasons, I was unable to vote today. Had I been present, I would have voted "yea" on rollcall No. 331 and "yea" on rollcall No. 332.

#### THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the question on agreeing to the Speaker's approval of the Journal, which the Chair will put de novo.

The question is on the Speaker's approval of the Journal.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal stands approved.

ELECTING A MEMBER TO CERTAIN STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Mrs. McMORRIS RODGERS. Mr. Speaker, by direction of the House Republican Conference, I send to the desk a privileged resolution and ask for its immediate consideration.

The Clerk read the resolution, as follows:

#### H. RES. 1000

Resolved, That the following named Member be, and is hereby, elected to the following standing committees of the House of Representatives:

COMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT AND GOVERNMENT REFORM: Mr. Cloud.

COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE, SPACE, AND TECHNOLOGY: Mr. Cloud.

Mrs. McMORRIS RODGERS (during the reading). Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that the resolution be considered as read.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentlewoman from Washington?

There was no objection.

The resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

## ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, the Chair will postpone further proceedings today on motions to suspend the rules on which a recorded vote or the yeas and nays are ordered, or votes objected to under clause 6 of rule XX.

The House will resume proceedings on postponed questions at a later time.

# PRO BONO WORK TO EMPOWER AND REPRESENT ACT OF 2018

Mr. GOODLATTE. Mr. Speaker, I move to suspend the rules and pass the bill (S. 717) to promote pro bono legal services as a critical way in which to empower survivors of domestic violence as amended.

The Clerk read the title of the bill. The text of the bill is as follows:

#### S. 717

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,

#### SECTION 1. SHORT TITLE.

This Act may be cited as the "Pro bono Work to Empower and Represent Act of 2018" or the "POWER Act".

#### SEC. 2. FINDINGS.

Congress finds the following:

- (1) Extremely high rates of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking exist at the local, State, tribal, and national levels and such violence or behavior harms the most vulnerable members of our society.
- (2) According to a study commissioned by the Department of Justice, nearly 25 percent of women suffer from domestic violence during their lifetime.
- (3) Proactive efforts should be made available in all forums to provide pro bono legal services and eliminate the violence that destroys lives and shatters families.