CONGRESSIONAL RECORD—HOUSE

Perlmutter

Peters

Peterson

Price (NC)

Quigley

Raskin

Rosen

Ruiz

Rush

Rice (NY)

Richmond

Roybal-Allard

Ruppersberger

Ryan (OH)

Sánchez

Sarbanes

Schiff

Schakowsky

Schneider

Scott (VA)

Scott. David

Sewell (AL)

Smith (WA)

Swalwell (CA)

Takano Thompson (CA)

Thompson (MS)

Schrader

Serrano

Sherman

Sinema

Sires

Soto

Suozzi

Titus

Tonko

Torres

Tsongas

Vargas

Veasey

Velázquez

Visclosky

Wasserman

Schultz

Wilson (FL)

Yarmuth

Waters, Maxine

Watson Coleman

Vela

Welch

Pingree

Pocan

Polis

Kaptur

Keating

Kelly (IL)

A recorded vote was ordered. The SPEAKER pro tempore. This is a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—aves 229, noes 184. not voting 15, as follows:

[Roll No. 332] AYES-229 Gosar Gowdy Granger Graves (GA) Graves (LA) Graves (MO) Griffith Grothman Guthrie Handel Harper Harris Hartzler Hensarling Herrera Beutler Hice, Jody B. Higgins (LA) Hill Holding Hollingsworth Hudson Huizenga Hultgren Hunter Hurd Issa Jenkins (KS) Jenkins (WV) Johnson (LA) Johnson (OH) Johnson, Sam Jordan Joyce (OH) Katko Kelly (MS) Kelly (PA) King (IA) King (NY) Kinzinger Knight Kustoff (TN) Labrador LaHood LaMalfa Lamborn Lance Latta Lesko Lewis (MN) LoBiondo Long Loudermilk Love Lucas Luetkemeyer MacArthur Marchant Marino Marshall Mast McCarthy McCau1 McClintock McHenry McKinlev McMorris Rodgers McSallv Meadows Messer Mitchell Moolenaar Mooney (WV) Mullin Newhouse Noem Norman NOES-184 Blumenauer

Nunes Olson Palazzo Palmer Paulsen Pearce Perry Pittenger Poe (TX) Poliquin Posev Ratcliffe Reed Reichert Renacci Rice (SC) Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rohrabacher Rokita Rooney, Francis Rooney, Thomas J. Ros-Lehtinen Roskam Ross Rothfus Rouzer Royce (CA) Russell Rutherford Sanford Scalise Schweikert Scott. Austin Sensenbrenner Sessions Shimkus Shuster Smith (MO) Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smucker Stefanik Stewart Stivers Taylor Tenney Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tipton Trott Turner Upton Valadao Wagner Walberg Walden Walker Walorski Walters, Mimi Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Wenstrup Westerman Williams Wilson (SC) Wittman Womack Woodall Yoder Yoho Young (AK) Young (IA) Zeldin

Adams Aguilar Amash Barragán Bass Beatty Bera Beyer Bishop (GA)

Butterfield Blunt Rochester Capuano Bonamici Carbajal Boyle, Brendan Carson (IN) Cartwright F. Brady (PA) Castor (FL) Brown (MD) Castro (TX) Chu, Judy Cicilline Brownley (CA)

Bustos

Cohen Connolly Cooper Correa Costa Courtney Crist Cuellar Cummings Davis (CA) Davis, Danny DeFazio DeGette Delanev DeLauro DelBene Demings DeSaulnier Deutch Dingell Doggett Doyle, Michael F. Engel Eshoo Espaillat Esty (CT) Evans Foster Frankel (FL) Fudge Gabbard Gallego Gomez Gonzalez (TX) Gottheimer Green, Al Green, Gene Grijalva Hastings Heck Higgins (NY) Himes Hoyer Huffman Javapal Jeffries Johnson (GA) Johnson, E. B.

Jones

Black

Clarke (NY)

Clay

Cleaver

Clyburn

Kennedy Khanna Kihuen Kildee Kilmer Kind Krishnamoorthi Kuster (NH) Lamb Langevin Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Lawrence Lawson (FL) Lee Levin Lewis (GA) Lieu. Ted Lipinski Loebsack Loferen Lowenthal Lowey Luián. Ben Rav Lynch Maloney, Carolyn B Maloney, Sean Massie Matsui McCollum McEachin McGovern McNerney Meeks Meng Moore Moulton Murphy (FL) Nadler Napolitano Neal Nolan Norcross O'Halleran O'Rourke Pallone Panetta Pascrell Pavne Pelosi

NOT VOTING-15

Black	Gutiérrez
Cárdenas	Hanabusa
Clark (MA)	Jackson L
Crowley	Lujan Gris
Ellison	M.
Garamendi	Roby

Shea-Porter Simpson ,ee Speier sham. Walz

□ 1344

So the resolution was agreed to. The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on

the table.

Stated against:

Ms. CLARK of Massachusetts. Mr. Speaker, I was unavoidably detained. Had I been present, I would have voted "nay" on rollcall No. 332.

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

Mr. SIMPSON. Mr. Speaker, for personal reasons, I was unable to vote today. Had I been present. I would have voted "vea" on rollcall No. 331 and "yea" on rollcall No. 332.

THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the question on agreeing to the Speaker's approval of the Journal, which the Chair will put de novo.

The question is on the Speaker's approval of the Journal.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal stands approved.

ELECTING A MEMBER TO CERTAIN STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Mrs. MCMORRIS RODGERS. Mr. Speaker, by direction of the House Republican Conference, I send to the desk a privileged resolution and ask for its immediate consideration.

The Clerk read the resolution, as follows:

H. RES. 1000

Resolved, That the following named Member be, and is hereby, elected to the following standing committees of the House of Representatives:

COMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT AND GOVERNMENT REFORM: Mr. Cloud.

COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE, SPACE, AND TECH-NOLOGY: Mr. Cloud.

Mrs. MCMORRIS RODGERS (during the reading). Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that the resolution be considered as read.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentlewoman from Washington?

There was no objection.

The resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, the Chair will postpone further proceedings today on motions to suspend the rules on which a recorded vote or the yeas and nays are ordered, or votes objected to under clause 6 of rule XX.

The House will resume proceedings on postponed questions at a later time.

PRO BONO WORK TO EMPOWER AND REPRESENT ACT OF 2018

Mr. GOODLATTE. Mr. Speaker, I move to suspend the rules and pass the bill (S. 717) to promote pro bono legal services as a critical way in which to empower survivors of domestic violence, as amended.

The Clerk read the title of the bill. The text of the bill is as follows:

S. 717

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled.

SECTION 1. SHORT TITLE.

This Act may be cited as the "Pro bono Work to Empower and Represent Act of 2018" or the "POWER Act".

SEC. 2. FINDINGS.

Congress finds the following:

(1) Extremely high rates of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking exist at the local, State, tribal, and national levels and such violence or behavior harms the most vulnerable members of our society.

(2) According to a study commissioned by the Department of Justice, nearly 25 percent of women suffer from domestic violence during their lifetime.

(3) Proactive efforts should be made available in all forums to provide pro bono legal services and eliminate the violence that destroys lives and shatters families.

Abraham

Aderholt

Allen

Babin

Bacon

Barr

Amodei

Arrington

Banks (IN)

Barletta

Barton

Bergman

Biggs Bilirakis

Bishop (MI)

Bishop (UT)

Blackburn

Brady (TX)

Brooks (AL)

Brooks (IN)

Buchanan

Bucshon

Burgess

Byrne

Calvert

Chabot

Chenev

Coffman

Collins (GA)

Collins (NY)

Comstock

Conaway

Cloud

Cole

Comer

Cook Costello (PA)

Cramer

Curtis

Davidson

Denham

DeSantis

Donovan

Duffv

Dunn

Faso

Flores

Foxx

Gaetz

Gallagher

Garrett

Gibbs

Gianforte

Gohmert

Goodlatte

Emmer

Estes (KS)

Ferguson

Fitzpatrick

Fleischmann

Fortenberry

Frelinghuysen

DesJarlais

Diaz-Balart

Duncan (SC)

Duncan (TN)

Crawford

Culberson Curbelo (FL)

Davis Rodney

Carter (GA)

Carter (TX)

Blum

Bost

Brat

Buck

Budd