Text: S.J.Res.251 — 101st Congress (1989-1990)All Information (Except Text)

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Enrolled Bill

One Hundred First Congress of the United States of America
Begun and held at the City of Washington on Tuesday, the twenty-third day
of January,
one thousand nine hundred and ninety
Joint Resolution
Designating `Baltic Freedom Day'.
Whereas the people of the Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania
have cherished the principles of religious and political freedom and have
recently held mass demonstrations calling for freedom and independence;
Whereas from 1918 to 1940, the Baltic States existed as independent, sovereign
nations and as fully recognized members of the League of Nations;
Whereas 1990 marks the 50th anniversary of the invasion, seizure, and illegal
incorporation of the Baltic States into the Soviet Union against the national
will and the desire for independence and freedom of the Baltic people;
Whereas 1990 also marks the 50th anniversary of the continued policy of
the United States of not recognizing the illegal forcible occupation of the
Baltic States by the Soviet Union;
Whereas, due to Soviet and Nazi collusion, the Baltic States suffered a loss
of one-third of their population by the end of World War II;
Whereas, under Soviet occupation, the native Baltic peoples have been
deported from their homelands to forced labor and concentration camps in
Siberia and elsewhere;
Whereas the people of the Baltic States have unique indigenous cultures,
national traditions, and languages, which have been threatened by decades
of russification;
Whereas the Soviet Union has introduced into the Baltic States ecologically
unsound industries without proper safeguards, and the presence of those
industries has critically endangered the environment and well-being of the
Baltic people;
Whereas, as part of Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev's campaign of
openness, restructuring, and democratization, the Soviet leaders have
officially acknowledged the illegality of the secret protocols to the 1939
Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact, which led to the Soviet military invasion of the
Baltic States in 1940;
Whereas, in the spirit of openness and democratization, the Baltic peoples
are affirming their right, upheld both by international law and by the Soviet
Constitution, to restore full independence through parliamentary and peaceful
means; and
Whereas the United States, as a member of the United Nations, has repeatedly
upheld the right of nations to self-determination: Now, therefore, be it
 Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States
 of America in Congress assembled, That--
 (1) the Congress recognizes the continuing desire and right of the people
 of the Baltic States for freedom and independence;
 (2) the Congress, in keeping with the policy of the United States to deny
 recognition of the Soviet occupation of the Baltic States, urges the Soviet
 Union to recognize the sovereignty of the Baltic States and to yield to
 the rightful demands of the Baltic peoples for independence from foreign
 domination and oppression, as guaranteed by Principle Eight of the Helsinki
 Accords, to which the Soviet Union is a signatory;
 (3) June 14, 1990, the anniversary of the first mass deportation of the Baltic
 peoples from their homelands in 1941, is designated as `Baltic Freedom Day',
 as a symbol of the solidarity of the people of the United States with the
 aspirations of the captive Baltic people; and
 (4) the President is authorized and requested to issue a proclamation calling
 upon the people of the United States to observe Baltic Freedom Day with
 appropriate ceremonies and activities, and to submit to the Congress within
 60 days a statement articulating specific actions the United States Government
 is taking, in fulfillment of the intent of the nonrecognition principle to--
 (A) support the peaceful restoration of the independence of the Baltic
 States; and
 (B) to encourage Soviet support for a peaceful transition to independence
 and democracy in the Baltic States.
Speaker of the House of Representatives.
Vice President of the United States and
President of the Senate.