Summary: H.R.3618 — 107th Congress (2001-2002)All Information (Except Text)

There is one summary for H.R.3618. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (01/23/2002)

Establishes a SouthEast Crescent Authority for parts of the following southeastern states not already served by the Appalachian Regional Commission or the Delta Regional Authority: DC, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, and Florida. Directs the Authority to perform various functions, including: (1) formulating plans and programs to spur economic development, and approving grants to States and public and nonprofit entities toward that end; (2) establishing priorities in a development plan for the region; (3) working with State and local agencies to craft appropriate model legislation; (4) encouraging private investment in the region; (5) supporting local development districts, and creating them where they do not exist; and (6) making recommendations to Governors and State legislatures on means of interstate cooperation.

Authorizes the Authority to hold hearings, take testimony, receive evidence and require oaths as it deems necessary. Requires Federal agencies to cooperate with the Authority. Permits the Authority to request and receive Federal, State and local government personnel as employees.

Stipulates that Authority grants for infrastructure development may be made only to State or local governments. Permits other Authority grants for job training, employment-related education, business development, assisting severely distressed and poor areas in improving basic services, or for other purposes in accordance with the Act.

Allows the Authority to annually designate: (1) distressed counties; and (2) isolated areas of distress in nondistressed counties.

Directs the Authority to garner public participation in the development, revision and implementation of its plans and programs.