Text: H.Res.383 — 107th Congress (2001-2002)All Information (Except Text)

Text available as:

  • TXT
  • PDF (PDF provides a complete and accurate display of this text.) Tip?

Shown Here:
Engrossed in House (04/11/2002)

[Congressional Bills 107th Congress]
[From the U.S. Government Printing Office]
[H. Res. 383 Engrossed in House (EH)]

                 In the House of Representatives, U.S.,

                                                        April 11, 2002.
Whereas on April 1, 2002, the University of Maryland Terrapins won the National 
        Collegiate Athletic Association men's basketball championship;
Whereas the Maryland Terrapins compiled a school record for wins during the 2002 
        season with 32, their 4th straight season with 25 wins or more;
Whereas the Maryland Terrapins went undefeated at home in the last year of play 
        at historic Cole Field House by achieving a record of 15-0;
Whereas the Maryland Terrapins won their 1st outright Atlantic Coast Conference 
        regular season championship in over 22 years;
Whereas Maryland Terrapins qualified for their 9th consecutive NCAA tournament 
        under Coach Gary Williams and obtained a number 1 seed in the East 
        Region this year, and advanced to their 2nd consecutive Final Four;
Whereas in the NCAA championship game the Maryland Terrapins faced the Indiana 
        University Hoosiers and came away victorious by a score of 64-52;
Whereas the Maryland Terrapins had to beat perennial basketball powerhouses 
        Kentucky, Connecticut, and Kansas before earning the right to play in 
        the championship game;
Whereas the NCAA men's basketball championship was the 1st in Maryland's school 
Whereas the Maryland Terrapins are 1 of only 5 teams in history to have won 
        national championships in both basketball and football;
Whereas University of Maryland senior Juan Dixon was named the Most Outstanding 
        Player of the tournament, First Team All-American, and Atlantic Coast 
        Conference Player of the Year;
Whereas University of Maryland senior Lonny Baxter was named the Most Valuable 
        Player in regional play for the 2nd year in a row;
Whereas the entire Maryland Terrapin team, including Earl Badu, Lonny Baxter, 
        Steve Blake, Andre Collins, Juan Dixon, Mike Grinnon, Tahj Holden, 
        Calvin McCall, Byron Mouton, Drew Nicholas, Ryan Randle, and Chris 
        Wilcox, demonstrated the highest level of teamwork, skill, tenacity, and 
        sportsmanship throughout the entire 2001-2002 season;
Whereas Coach Gary Williams and his coaching staff of Dave Dickerson, Jimmy 
        Pastos, Matt Kovarik, and Director of Basketball Operations Troy 
        Wainwright have built one of the preeminent college basketball programs 
        in the Nation, as demonstrated by this championship win and more than a 
        decade of achievement;
Whereas Coach Gary Williams, a 1968 alumnus of the University of Maryland, led 
        his alma mater to the 2002 National Championship and has compiled a 
        tremendous track record of achievement and success in his more than 30 
        years in coaching, including 24 years as a head coach; and
Whereas University of Maryland Athletic Director Deborah Yow has played an 
        instrumental role in elevating all of the University's intercollegiate 
        athletic programs, including, the men's basketball team and the football 
        team, which under the direction of Head Coach Ralph Friedgen compiled a 
        10-1 regular season record and earned an invitation to the 2002 Orange 
        Bowl: Now, therefore, be it
    Resolved, That the House of Representatives--
            (1) congratulates--
                    (A) the University of Maryland Terrapins for winning the 
                2002 National Collegiate Athletic Association Basketball 
                Championship on April 1, 2002;
                    (B) all of the 65 outstanding teams who participated in the 
                2002 tournament; and
                    (C) the National Collegiate Athletic Association for its 
                continuing excellence in providing a supportive arena for the 
                Nation's college athletes to display their talents and 
            (2) commends the Maryland Terrapins for their outstanding 
        performance during the entire 2002 season and for their commitment to 
        high standards of character, perseverance, and teamwork;
            (3) recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, and support 
        staff who were instrumental in helping the Maryland Terrapins win the 
        2002 championship; and
            (4) directs the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit an 
        enrolled copy of this resolution to--
                    (A) Dr. C.D. ``Dan'' Mote, the President of the University 
                of Maryland;
                    (B) Deborah Yow, the Athletic Director at the University of 
                Maryland; and
                    (C) Gary Williams, the head coach of the University of 
                Maryland Terrapins men's basketball team.