Summary: H.R.676 — 108th Congress (2003-2004)All Information (Except Text)

There is one summary for H.R.676. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (02/11/2003)

United States National Health Insurance Act (or the Expanded and Improved Medicare for All Act) - Establishes the United States National Health Insurance (USNHI ) Program (the Program), providing all individuals residing in the United States (including in U.S. territories) with health care. States benefits the Program shall offer, including: (1) primary care and prevention; (2) prescription drugs; (3) emergency care; and (4) mental health services.

Prohibits institutions from participating as health providers in the Program unless they are a public or nonprofit institution, and provides for conversions of investor-owned providers with compensation for real property and equipment.

Allows health maintenance organizations to participate in the Program under specified conditions. Permits patients to freedom of choice of participating physicians and other clinicians, hospitals, and inpatient care facilities. Prohibits a private health insurer from selling health insurance coverage that duplicates the benefits provided under this Act.

Declares that the Program shall establish a prescription drug formulary system, which shall encourage best practices in prescribing and shall be updated frequently.

Requires the Secretary of Health and Human Services to appoint a Director for the Program, who in turn shall appoint a director for an Office of Quality Control. Requires the director of the Office of Quality Control to conduct an annual review on the adequacy of medically needed services.

Establishes a National Board of Universal Quality and Access, which shall advise the Secretary and the Director to ensure quality, access, and affordability.

Provides for the eventual integration of the health programs of the Department of Veterans' Affairs and the Indian Health Service into the Program.

Declares that this Act shall take effect on January 1, 2005.