Summary: H.R.60 — 109th Congress (2005-2006)All Information (Except Text)

There is one summary for H.R.60. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (01/04/2005)

Tsunamis Temporary Protected Status Act of 2005 - Requires Sri Lanka, India, Indonesia, Thailand, Somalia, Myanmar, Malaysia, Maldives, Tanzania, Seychelles, Bangladesh, and Kenya to be treated as if such countries had been designated for purposes of the temporary protected status (TPS) provisions of the Immigration and Nationality Act.

Establishes a one-year period of initial TPS designation.

Makes aliens who are nationals of such nations eligible for TPS if they: (1) have been continuously physically present since the date of enactment of this Act; (2) are admissible as immigrants or eligible for certain waivers of inadmissibility and are not ineligible for TPS; and (3) register for TPS in the manner established by the Secretary of Homeland Security.

Directs the Secretary to give prior consent to travel abroad to an alien granted TPS pursuant to this Act if the alien establishes that emergency and extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the alien require the alien to depart for a brief, temporary trip abroad.