Summary: H.Con.Res.126 — 109th Congress (2005-2006)All Information (Except Text)

Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Passed House without amendment (04/20/2005)

(This measure has not been amended since it was introduced. The summary of that version is repeated here.)

Declares that the House of Representatives condemns the tragic violence which occurred at Red Lake High School in Red Lake, Minnesota.

Honors: (1) the heroism and memory of Derrick Brun, whose courageous actions and self-sacrifice no doubt saved the lives of others; (2) the heroism, courage, and memory of Daryl Lussier, Michelle Sigana, Neva Rogers, Dewayne Lewis, Chase Lussier, Alicia Spike, Thurlene Stillday, and Chanelle Rosebear, who lost their lives in this terrible tragedy; and (3) the heroism of Ryan Auginash, Steven Cobenais, Lance Crowe, Jeffrey May, and Cody Thunder, all of whom were wounded. Expresses hope for the rapid and complete recovery of these victims as well as support for their families, friends, and loved ones.

Offers condolences to all of the families, friends, and loved ones of the victims.

Applauds: (1) the Red Lake Band of Chippewa for their strength as a community in dealing with this tragedy; (2) the hard work, dedication, and professional conduct exhibited by local, State, and Federal law enforcement officials and the other community leaders and private citizens who offered their support and assistance; and (3) the hard work and dedication of the health care personnel. Commends them for providing tireless and sensitive care to the victims, the families, and the entire community.

Encourages the American people to renew their commitment to and support for efforts to prevent school violence.