Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Passed Senate without amendment (02/09/2006)

(This measure has not been amended since it was passed by the House on February 8, 2006. The summary of that version is repeated here.)

Recognizes: (1) Thomas Anderson, Alva Martin Bennett, Jim Bennett, Jerry Groves, George Hamner Jr., Terry Helms, David Lewis, Martin Toler, Fred Ware Jr., Jack Weaver, Jesse Jones, and Marshall Winans for their sacrifice in the Sago, West Virginia, coal mine; and (2) Randal McCloy for his stamina and courage that enabled him to survive in severe conditions for over 40 hours; (3) the crews that rescued McCloy; and (4) the volunteers who provided support for the miners' families during the rescue operations.

Recognizes: (1) Don Israel Bragg and Ellery "Elvis" Hatfield for their sacrifice in the Aracoma Alma, West Virginia coal mine; and (2) Edmund Vance and Paul Moss for their sacrifice in the Boone County, West Virginia, coal mines.

Extends the deepest condolences of the nation to the families of these men.