Summary: S.191 — 109th Congress (2005-2006)All Information (Except Text)

There is one summary for S.191. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in Senate (01/26/2005)

Tariff Relief Assistance for Developing Economies Act of 2005 (TRADE Act of 2005) - Authorizes the President to designate Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Kiribati, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Maldives, Nepal, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Yemen, and Sri Lanka or their successor political entities (TRADE Act of 2005 countries) as beneficiary TRADE Act of 2005 countries eligible to receive duty-free treatment for certain articles that are the growth, product, or manufacture of such countries, if after receiving the advice of the International Trade Commission (ITC) the President determines that such articles are not import-sensitive in the context of imports from such countries.

Conditions such designation upon eligibility requirements of the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) and the Trade Act of 1974.

Prescribes the rule of origin for the articles for the duty-free treatment.

Applies duty-free treatment, without any quantitative limitations, granted to textile and apparel articles under AGOA to articles imported directly into the U.S. customs territory from a beneficiary TRADE Act of 2005 country if their assembly meets specified U.S. origin requirements.

Grants AGOA preferential treatment for apparel articles assembled in one or more beneficiary TRADE Act of 2005 countries or such former countries, or both, from regional fabric from yarn originating either in the United States or one or more of such countries.

Establishes: (1) limitations on such preferential treatment; and (2) special rules for apparel articles wholly assembled in one or more beneficiary TRADE Act of 2005 countries or former beneficiary countries, or both, regardless of the country of origin of the yarn or fabric used to make such articles; and (3) applicable percentages of such benefits.