Summary: H.R.66 — 110th Congress (2007-2008)All Information (Except Text)

There is one summary for H.R.66. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (01/04/2007)

Southeast Crescent Authority Act of 2007 - Establishes a Southeast Crescent Authority for all parts of the following southeastern states not eligible for assistance from the Appalachian Regional Commission or the Delta Regional Authority: Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, and Florida.

Directs the Authority to perform various functions, including: (1) formulating plans and programs to spur economic development, and approving grants to states and public and nonprofit entities toward that end; (2) establishing priorities in a development plan for the region; (3) supporting local development districts, and creating them where they do not exist; and (4) encouraging private investment in the region.

Permits the Authority to request and receive federal, state and local government personnel as employees.

States that Authority grants for infrastructure development may be made only to state or local governments. Permits Authority grants for job training, employment-related education, business development, assisting severely distressed and poor areas, or for other purposes in accordance with this Act.

Allows the Authority to designate annually: (1) distressed counties; and (2) isolated areas of distress in nondistressed counties.

Directs the Authority to garner public participation in the development, revision, and implementation of its plans and programs.