Summary: H.Res.421 — 110th Congress (2007-2008)All Information (Except Text)

Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Passed House without amendment (06/06/2007)

(This measure has not been amended since it was introduced. The summary of that version is repeated here.)

Recognizes and honors the contributions of the "Mercury 13 women": Myrtle Cagle, Geraldyn "Jerrie" Cobb, Jan Dietrich, Marion Dietrich, Mary Wallace "Wally" Funk, Jane Briggs Hart, Jean Hixson, Gene Nora Stumbough Jessen, Irene Leverton, Sarah Lee Gorelick Ratley, Bernice Trimble Steadman, Geraldine "Jerri" Sloan Truhill, and Rhea Hurrle Allison Woltman.

Encourages young women to follow in the footsteps of those women and pursue careers of excellence in aviation and astronautics, as well as in engineering and science.