Text: H.Res.782 — 110th Congress (2007-2008)All Bill Information (Except Text)

Bill text available as:

Shown Here:
Engrossed in House (11/06/2007)

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this legislative text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF or HTML/XML.

[Congressional Bills 110th Congress]
[From the U.S. Government Printing Office]
[H. Res. 782 Engrossed in House (EH)]

                In the House of Representatives, U. S.,

                                                      November 6, 2007.
Whereas in the early moments of October 29, 2007, the Boston Red Sox won their 
        second World Series title in four seasons by besting the Colorado 
        Rockies in just four games;
Whereas the Red Sox won their seventh world title in the 107-year history of the 
        storied franchise;
Whereas the 2007 Red Sox World Champion team epitomized sportsmanship, selfless 
        play, team spirit, determination, and heart in the course of winning 96 
        games in the regular season, winning the American League East Division 
Whereas Josh Beckett, the major league's only 20-game winner in the 2007 regular 
        season, cemented his place as one of the greatest post-season pitchers 
        of all time, winning four games in the playoffs, including a dominating 
        performance in Game One of the World Series, and keeping the hopes of 
        Red Sox Nation alive by overpowering the Cleveland Indians in Game 5 of 
        the American League Championship series when the team was down 3 games 
        to 1;
Whereas Curt Schilling proved once again his greatness as a post-season pitcher 
        by winning Game 2 of the World Series;
Whereas rookie sensation Daisuke Matsuzaka followed with a win in Game 3, 
        tossing his famed gyroball on baseball's biggest stage;
Whereas left-hander Jon Lester completed a storybook comeback by overcoming 
        adversity and leading his team to victory from the mound by pitching 5 
        and two-thirds scoreless innings, winning Game Four and completing the 
Whereas Mike Lowell was named the Most Valuable Player of the World Series after 
        batting .400 while scoring six runs and batting in four more, capping 
        off a stellar regular season with an equally impressive post-season and 
        capturing a richly deserved honor;
Whereas Jonathan Papelbon demonstrated complete dominance as the team's closer, 
        saving three of the four World Series games for the Red Sox and not 
        allowing a run in the 10 and two thirds post-season innings he pitched;
Whereas team captain Jason Varitek once again exemplified the qualities that 
        make him a great team's great captain, guiding his pitching staff with 
        patience and determination, and making one of the toughest positions in 
        baseball seem effortless;
Whereas the 2007 post-season produced many memorable moments from young players 
        and veterans alike, including emerging talents like Dustin Pedroia, 
        Jacoby Ellsbury, and Hideki Okajima and more seasoned players like Kevin 
        Youkilis, J.D. Drew, Bobby Kielty, Coco Crisp, Julio Lugo, and Mike 
Whereas David Ortiz and Manny Ramirez further enhanced their legendary status as 
        two of the game's greatest hitters ever throughout the regular season 
        and beyond;
Whereas the 2007 Red Sox also included the longest serving member of the Red Sox 
        franchise, Tim Wakefield, along with other integral players Manny 
        Delcarmen, Julian Tavarez, Eric Gagne, Javier Lopez, Kyle Snyder, Doug 
        Mirabelli, Alex Cora, and Eric Hinske;
Whereas the 2007 season brought fans many magical moments, including rookie Clay 
        Buchholz's September no-hitter in just his second major league start;
Whereas Red Sox Manager Terry Francona continued to lead his team with grace and 
        a steady hand, transforming them into one of the greatest Red Sox teams 
        of all time and capturing his second World Series title in just 4 short 
Whereas Red Sox owners John Henry and Tom Werner and Red Sox President and Chief 
        Executive Officer Larry Lucchino continued their quest to field the best 
        team in baseball, culminating in another World Series celebration for 
        Red Sox Nation;
Whereas Red Sox Executive Vice President/General Manager Theo Epstein assembled 
        all the parts for a winning team that featured the major league's best 
        pitching staff, a dominant offense, and most important, the hearts and 
        souls of true champions;
Whereas the entire Red Sox organization maintains a strong commitment to 
        charitable causes in New England, demonstrated by the team's decades-
        long support of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute's Jimmy Fund in the 
        fight against childhood cancers;
Whereas Red Sox fans are everywhere, in the ball parks of opposing teams, in 
        every State in the Union and in many foreign lands; and
Whereas a grateful Red Sox Nation thanks the team for an unforgettable season 
        and for bringing another World Championship home to Boston: Now, 
        therefore, be it
    Resolved, That the House of Representatives--
            (1) congratulates--
                    (A) the Boston Red Sox for winning the 2007 Major League 
                Baseball World Series and for all of their accomplishments 
                during a stellar 2007 regular season; and
                    (B) the eight Major League Baseball teams that played in the 
            (2) recognizes the achievements of the Boston Red Sox players, 
        manager, coaches, and support staff whose hard work, dedication, and 
        spirit made this all possible;
            (3) commends--
                    (A) the Colorado Rockies for a solid year, including an 
                impressive late season surge that brought them to their first 
                World Series; and
                    (B) the fans and management of the Colorado Rockies for 
                their hospitality towards all the Red Sox fans who traveled to 
                Denver for the World Series; and
            (4) directs the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit an 
        enrolled copy of this resolution to--
                    (A) the 2007 Boston Red Sox team;
                    (B) Red Sox Manager Terry Francona;
                    (C) Red Sox General Manager Theo Epstein;
                    (D) Red Sox President and Chief Executive Officer Larry 
                    (E) Red Sox Principal Owner John Henry; and
                    (F) Red Sox Chairman Tom Werner.