Summary: S.496 — 110th Congress (2007-2008)All Information (Except Text)

Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Public Law No: 110-371 (10/08/2008)

(This measure has not been amended since it was passed by the House on July 15, 2008. The summary of that version is repeated here.)

Appalachian Regional Development Act Amendments of 2008- Limits the amount of Appalachian regional development grants and loans for projects in at-risk counties to 70% of project costs. Directs the Appalachian Regional Commission to designate as "at-risk" those counties in the Appalachian region that are most at risk of becoming economically distressed.

Authorizes the Commission to provide technical assistance, provide grants, enter into contracts, or otherwise provide amounts to entities in the region for projects and activities to: (1) promote energy efficiency; (2) increase the use of renewable energy resources; and (3) support the development of regional, conventional energy resources to produce electricity and heat through advanced technologies.

Authorizes appropriations to the Commission through FY2012, with specified amounts designated for the economic and energy development initiative. Requires funds approved by the Commission for a project in an Appalachian state pursuant to a congressional directive to be derived from the amount allocated to that state.

Extends the termination date of the Appalachian Regional Development Act of 1965 until October 1, 2012.

Adds to the Appalachian region the counties of: (1) Metcalfe, Nicholas, and Robertson in Kentucky; (2) Ashtabula, Mahoning, and Trumbull in Ohio; (3) Lawrence and Lewis in Tennessee; and (4) Henry and Patrick in Virginia.