Summary: H.R.1177 — 111th Congress (2009-2010)All Information (Except Text)

Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Public Law No: 111-262 (09/28/2010)

(This measure has not been amended since it was passed by the House on May 20, 2010. The summary of that version is repeated here.)

5-Star Generals Commemorative Coin Act - (Sec. 3) Requires the Secretary of the Treasury to mint and issue $5 gold coins, $1 silver coins, and half-dollar clad coins in recognition of five United States Army Five-Star Generals: George Marshall, Douglas MacArthur, Dwight Eisenhower, Henry "Hap" Arnold, and Omar Bradley, alumni of the United States Army Command and General Staff College, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.

(Sec. 4) Requires the design of the coins to include portraits of the generals.

(Sec. 5) Restricts the issuance of such coins to calendar year 2013.

(Sec. 7) Requires specified surcharges in the sale of such coins, which shall be paid promptly to the Command and General Staff College Foundation to help finance its support of the College.