Text: H.Res.607 — 111th Congress (2009-2010)All Information (Except Text)

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Engrossed in House (07/20/2009)

H. Res. 607

In the House of Representatives, U. S.,

July 20, 2009.  

    Whereas President John F. Kennedy in his May 25, 1961, speech to Congress set forth the goal of landing a man on the Moon and returning him safely to the Earth;

    Whereas the Apollo program was designed to achieve the goal established by President Kennedy by sending a crew of three astronauts to the Moon and returning them safely to the Earth;

    Whereas the Apollo program built on the knowledge and experience gained from the Mercury and Gemini human space flight programs, as well as from precursor robotic lunar exploration activities;

    Whereas the crew of Apollo 11 consisted of Neil Armstrong, Mission Commander, Buzz Aldrin, Lunar Module Pilot, and Michael Collins, Command Module Pilot;

    Whereas the crew of Apollo 11 launched into space aboard a Saturn V rocket on July 16, 1969, on a 4-day trip to the Moon;

    Whereas, on July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin successfully piloted the Eagle Lunar Module to the surface of the Moon;

    Whereas, on July 20, 1969, when Neil Armstrong took his first step on the Moon, he became the first person to walk on the surface of another celestial body;

    Whereas the Apollo 11 Moon landing was the culmination of the efforts of tens of thousands of scientists, engineers, and other dedicated individuals and organizations;

    Whereas the Apollo 11 Moon landing was experienced by millions of people all around the world by means of radio and television broadcasts;

    Whereas the Apollo 11 astronauts left a plaque on the lunar surface that stated: “We came in peace for all mankind”;

    Whereas the successful Apollo 11 Moon landing was one of the most significant events of the 20th century and inspired a generation to strive towards great accomplishments in space and on Earth; and

    Whereas the Apollo 11 achievement continues to inspire Americans as we prepare for future human journeys back to the Moon and other destinations in the solar system: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

(1) celebrates the 40th Anniversary of the Apollo 11 lunar landing;

(2) honors the brave crew of the Apollo 11 mission—Neil Armstrong, “Buzz” Aldrin, and Michael Collins; and

(3) commends all those individuals and organizations who contributed to such a historic achievement that continues to be an inspiration to the Nation and the world.