Text: S.Res.61 — 111th Congress (2009-2010)All Information (Except Text)

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Agreed to Senate (03/23/2009)

1st Session
S. RES. 61

Commending the Columbus Crew Major League Soccer Team for winning the 2008 Major League Soccer Cup.


March 2, 2009

Mr. Voinovich (for himself and Mr. Brown) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

March 23, 2009

Committee discharged; considered and agreed to


Commending the Columbus Crew Major League Soccer Team for winning the 2008 Major League Soccer Cup.

    Whereas, on Sunday, November 23, 2008, the Columbus Crew defeated the New York Red Bulls by a score of 3–1 to win the 2008 Major League Soccer (MLS) Cup;

    Whereas the Columbus Crew led the league with a record of 17 wins, 7 losses, and 6 draws and scored 50 regular season goals and 8 playoff goals;

    Whereas Columbus Crew head coach Sigi Schmid was named the 2008 MLS Coach of the Year and became the first MLS Coach to win an MLS Cup with two different teams;

    Whereas Columbus Crew forward Guillermo Barros Schelotto was named the 2008 MLS Most Valuable Player and led the league with 19 regular season assists and 6 playoff assists;

    Whereas Columbus Crew defender Chad Marshall was named the 2008 MLS Defender of the Year;

    Whereas Columbus Crew forward Alejandro Moreno led the team in scoring with 9 regular season goals and 1 playoff goal;

    Whereas Columbus Crew goalkeeper Will Hesmer had 17 wins, 97 saves, and 10 shutouts in 29 regular season games;

    Whereas Alejandro Moreno, Chad Marshall, and Frankie Hejduk all scored goals in the MLS Cup Championship game;

    Whereas the Columbus Crew was the winner of the 2008 MLS Supporters’ Shield for being the team with the best regular season record;

    Whereas Columbus Crew Captain Frankie Hejduk led the team to its first MLS Cup since the team’s creation in 1994; and

    Whereas the Columbus Crew, along with its supporters, has energized Columbus and brought great pride to the State of Ohio: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate—

(1) congratulates the Columbus Crew on winning the 2008 Major League Soccer Cup;

(2) recognizes the achievements of Sigi Schmid, Chad Marshall, Guillermo Barros Schelotto, and the other members of the Columbus Crew for their tireless work ethic and championship form;

(3) salutes the support of the Columbus Crew fan groups, including the Hudson Street Hooligans, the Crew Union, La Turbina Amarilla, and the rest of the Nordecke for unwavering dedication to the Columbus Crew; and

(4) expresses the hope that the Columbus Crew and Major League Soccer will continue to inspire soccer fans and players throughout Ohio, the United States, and the world.