Text: H.Res.716 — 112th Congress (2011-2012)All Information (Except Text)

There is one version of the bill.

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (06/28/2012)

2d Session
H. RES. 716

Expressing support for designation of August 1, 2012, as “National Eagle Scout Day”.

June 28, 2012

Mr. Sessions (for himself, Mr. Buchanan, Ms. Buerkle, Mr. Bucshon, Mr. Calvert, Mr. Canseco, Mrs. Capito, Mr. Carter, Mr. Cassidy, Ms. Castor of Florida, Mr. Chabot, Mr. Chaffetz, Mr. Coble, Mr. Coffman of Colorado, Mr. Cole, Mr. Conaway, Mr. Costello, Mr. Cravaack, Mr. Crawford, Mr. Crenshaw, Mr. Culberson, Mr. Brady of Texas, Mr. Burgess, Mr. Dent, Mr. Diaz-Balart, Mr. Dold, Mr. Duffy, Mrs. Ellmers, Mrs. Emerson, Mr. Farenthold, Mr. Flake, Mr. Fleischmann, Mr. Fleming, Mr. Forbes, Mr. Fortenberry, Ms. Foxx, Mr. Franks of Arizona, Mr. Frelinghuysen, Mr. Gardner, Mr. Garrett, Mr. Gerlach, Mr. Stivers, Mr. Sam Johnson of Texas, Mr. Barton of Texas, Mr. McCaul, Mr. Flores, Mr. Neugebauer, Mr. Roe of Tennessee, Mr. Gohmert, Mr. Fitzpatrick, Mr. Aderholt, Mr. Cuellar, Mr. Griffin of Arkansas, Mr. Capuano, Mr. Johnson of Illinois, Mr. Sensenbrenner, Mr. Palazzo, Mr. Landry, Mr. Boustany, Mr. Gallegly, Mr. McKeon, Mrs. Bachmann, Mr. Upton, Mr. Camp, Mr. Heinrich, Mr. Dreier, Mr. Amodei, Mr. Austria, Mr. Bachus, Mr. Bass of New Hampshire, Mr. Benishek, Mr. Berg, Mrs. Biggert, Mr. Bilbray, Mr. Bilirakis, Mr. Bishop of Utah, Mrs. Black, Mrs. Blackburn, Mr. Bonner, Mr. Boren, Mr. Broun of Georgia, Mr. Terry, Mr. Thompson of Pennsylvania, Mr. Thornberry, Mr. Tiberi, Mr. Tipton, Mr. Walden, Mr. Walsh of Illinois, Mr. Walz of Minnesota, Mr. Waxman, Mr. Webster, Mr. West, Mr. Westmoreland, Mr. Whitfield, Mr. Murphy of Pennsylvania, Mr. Nugent, Mr. Nunnelee, Mr. Olson, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Pitts, Mr. Pompeo, Mr. Posey, Mr. Price of Georgia, Mr. Quayle, Mr. Reichert, Mr. Renacci, Mr. Ribble, Mr. Rigell, Mr. Rivera, Mrs. Roby, Mr. Rogers of Alabama, Mr. Rogers of Michigan, Mr. Rohrabacher, Mr. Rokita, Mr. Roskam, Ms. Ros-Lehtinen, Mr. Ross of Florida, Mr. Royce, Mr. Runyan, Mr. Ruppersberger, Mr. Ryan of Wisconsin, Mr. Schilling, Mrs. Schmidt, Mr. Schock, Mr. Austin Scott of Georgia, Mr. Serrano, Mr. Shimkus, Mr. Shuler, Mr. Shuster, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Smith of Nebraska, Mr. Smith of New Jersey, Mr. Smith of Texas, Mr. Southerland, Mr. Herger, Ms. Herrera Beutler, Mr. Huelskamp, Mr. Huizenga of Michigan, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Hurt, Mr. Issa, Mr. Johnson of Ohio, Mr. Jordan, Mr. Kelly, Mr. King of Iowa, Mr. King of New York, Mr. Kingston, Mr. Kinzinger of Illinois, Mr. Kline, Mr. Labrador, Mr. Lance, Mr. Lankford, Mr. Latham, Mr. LaTourette, Mr. Latta, Mr. Luetkemeyer, Mr. Lipinski, Mr. LoBiondo, Mr. Lucas, Mrs. Lummis, Mr. Mack, Mr. Manzullo, Mr. Marchant, Mr. Marino, Mr. McCarthy of California, Mr. McClintock, Mr. McCotter, Mr. McDermott, Mr. McHenry, Mr. Meehan, Mr. Mica, Mr. Miller of Florida, Mr. Moran, Mr. Mulvaney, Mr. Gibbs, Mr. Gibson, Mr. Gosar, Mr. Gowdy, Ms. Granger, Mr. Graves of Missouri, Mr. Graves of Georgia, Mr. Grimm, Mr. Guthrie, Mr. Hall, Mr. Harris, Mr. Hastings of Washington, Ms. Hayworth, Mr. Heck, Mr. Hensarling, Mr. Wilson of South Carolina, Mr. Womack, Mr. Woodall, Mr. Yoder, Mr. Young of Florida, Mr. Young of Indiana, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Stutzman, Mrs. Bono Mack, Mr. Brooks, and Mr. Rehberg) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform


Expressing support for designation of August 1, 2012, as “National Eagle Scout Day”.

Whereas the Scouting program of the Boy Scouts of America prepares young men to become leaders through real-life experiences that foster a sense of duty;

Whereas the Boy Scouts of America is a congressionally chartered organization by chapter 309 of title 36, United States Code;

Whereas the Eagle Scout rank is the highest rank advancement that a Boy Scout can earn;

Whereas the Boy Scouts of America include and recognize young men with intellectual and physical disabilities;

Whereas the Scouting program helps create leaders with integrity, strong moral values, and ethical behavior, and Eagle Scouts have had, and continue to have, a significant and positive impact on society;

Whereas the accomplishments of Eagle Scouts over the past century underscore the importance of the Scouting program to the prosperity of the United States;

Whereas independent research conducted by Baylor University and funded by the John Templeton Foundation concluded that Eagle Scouts are more likely to vote, take on leadership positions, donate to charitable groups, volunteer for religious and non-religious organizations, and work with others to improve their neighborhoods than men who have never participated in the Scouting program;

Whereas there are currently 2.15 million Eagle Scouts in the United States, and an average of 50,000 young men earn the rank of Eagle Scout each year;

Whereas many remarkable Americans—men who have served in the White House, the Senate, the House of Representatives, and State and local elected offices, forged new paths on NASA missions, written Pulitzer-Prize winning literature, stood at the helm of major corporations, and made civil rights history—are Eagle Scouts;

Whereas Eagle Scouts have a strong sense of service to others, service to their community, and service to their country, as evidenced by the fact that 15.6 percent of the cadets at the United States Military Academy are Eagle Scouts;

Whereas each prospective Eagle Scout completes a service project designed to support the Scout’s community while fostering the leadership abilities and commitment to service of the young man;

Whereas the 100th anniversary of the Eagle Scout rank is an appropriate time to recognize the importance of the Eagle rank in the Scouting program and to commemorate the accomplishments and contributions of Eagle Scouts; and

Whereas August 1, 2012, is an appropriate date to observe as “National Eagle Scout Day”: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives supports the designation of a “National Eagle Scout Day” to commemorate the many contributions made by Eagle Scouts of the Boy Scouts of America in service to the United States.