Text: H.R.2185 — 113th Congress (2013-2014)All Information (Except Text)

There is one version of the bill.

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (05/23/2013)


113th CONGRESS
1st Session
H. R. 2185


To amend title 36, United States Code, to encourage the nationwide observance of two minutes of silence each Veterans Day.


IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

May 23, 2013

Mr. Lynch (for himself, Ms. Clarke, Mr. Conyers, Mr. Hastings of Florida, Ms. Jackson Lee, Mr. Jones, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Markey, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Michaud, Mr. Neal, Mr. Pocan, and Ms. Tsongas) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Veterans’ Affairs


A BILL

To amend title 36, United States Code, to encourage the nationwide observance of two minutes of silence each Veterans Day.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,

SECTION 1. Short title.

This Act may be cited as the “Veterans Day Moment of Silence Act”.

SEC. 2. Observance of Veterans Day.

(a) Two minutes of silence.—Chapter 1 of title 36, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following new section:

§ 145. Veterans Day

“The President shall issue each year a proclamation calling on the people of the United States to observe two minutes of silence on Veterans Day in honor of the service and sacrifice of veterans throughout the history of the Nation, beginning at—

“(1) 3:11 p.m. Atlantic standard time;

“(2) 2:11 p.m. eastern standard time;

“(3) 1:11 p.m. central standard time;

“(4) 12:11 p.m. mountain standard time;

“(5) 11:11 a.m. Pacific standard time;

“(6) 10:11 a.m. Alaska standard time; and

“(7) 9:11 a.m. Hawaii-Aleutian standard time.”.

(b) Clerical amendment.—The table of sections for chapter 1 of title 36, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following new item:


“145. Veterans Day.”.