Text: H.Res.272 — 113th Congress (2013-2014)All Information (Except Text)

There is one version of the bill.

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (06/20/2013)

1st Session
H. RES. 272

Honoring the Drug Enforcement Administration on the occasion of its 40th anniversary.


June 20, 2013

Mr. Hunter (for himself, Ms. Bordallo, Mr. Ruppersberger, Mr. King of New York, Mr. Rangel, Mr. Grimm, Mr. McIntyre, Mr. Pierluisi, Ms. Loretta Sanchez of California, Mr. Wolf, and Mr. Peterson) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary


Honoring the Drug Enforcement Administration on the occasion of its 40th anniversary.

    Whereas the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) was created by an Executive order on July 1, 1973, and given the responsibility to coordinate all activities of the Federal Government directly related to the enforcement of the Nation’s drug laws;

    Whereas the men and women of DEA have served our Nation with courage, vision, and determination that protects Americans from the scourge of drug trafficking, drug abuse, and related violence;

    Whereas DEA has refined the tactics and methods that targets the most dangerous drug trafficking organizations in order to bring to justice criminals over the last 40 years. This includes Leroy “Nicky” Barnes; key members of the infamous Colombian Medellin, Norte Valle, and Cali cartels; the FARC and AUC Colombian narcoterrorist organizations; Thai warlord Khun Sa; key leaders of each of the seven most notorious Mexico-based cartels; Hezbollah affiliates Walid Makled Garcia and Ayman Joumaa; Afghan terrorists Haji Baz Mohammad, Haji Bashir Noorzai, Haji Juma Khan; and international arms dealers Monzer Al-Kassar and Viktor Bout and hundreds of other criminals, narcoterrorists and drug traffickers;

    Whereas throughout its 40-year history DEA has continually adapted to evolving trends of drug trafficking organizations by aggressively targeting those involved in the manufacturing, distribution and sale of drugs, including marijuana, cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, Ecstasy, and controlled prescription drugs;

    Whereas through its 223 domestic offices in 21 field divisions DEA continues to strengthen and enhance existing relationships with Federal, State, and local counterparts across the entire country to combat drug trafficking;

    Whereas in the past decade alone DEA special agents have seized more than 21,000 kilograms of heroin; 825,000 kilograms of cocaine; four-and-a-half million kilograms of marijuana; over 21,000 kilograms of methamphetamine; more than 50 million dosage units of hallucinogens; and made over 300,000 arrests;

    Whereas in its 86 foreign offices located in 67 countries DEA has the largest international presence of any Federal law enforcement agency;

    Whereas its personnel continue to collaborate closely with international partners around the world, including in such drug-producing countries as Colombia, Mexico, and Afghanistan through the sharing of intelligence, training, technology and other resources;

    Whereas the results of this international collaboration in this past decade alone have led to the disruption or dismantling of 216 priority target drug trafficking organizations in Colombia, 20 in Afghanistan and 108 in Mexico;

    Whereas through the creation of the Diversion Control Program in 1971 DEA now registers and regulates over 1,400,000 registrants, while simultaneously combating the continually evolving threat posed by the diversion of controlled pharmaceuticals;

    Whereas DEA continues to strike at drug traffickers financially denying them $2.8 billion in 2012 and more than $22 billion over the past 7 years;

    Whereas DEA special agents continue to work shoulder-to-shoulder with Federal, State, and local law enforcement officials across the Nation in a cooperative and collaborative effort to fight crime and put drug traffickers behind bars;

    Whereas throughout DEA’s history its employees and members of the agency’s task forces have given their lives in the line of duty including: Emir Benitez, Gerald Sawyer, Leslie S. Grosso, Nickolas Fragos, Mary M. Keehan, Charles H. Mann, Anna Y. Mounger, Anna J. Pope, Martha D. Skeels, Mary P. Sullivan, Larry D. Wallace, Ralph N. Shaw, James T. Lunn, Octavio Gonzalez, Francis J. Miller, Robert C. Lightfoot, Thomas J. Devine, Larry N. Carwell, Marcellus Ward, Enrique S. Camarena, James A. Avant, Charles M. Bassing, Kevin L. Brosch, Susan M. Hoefler, William Ramos, Raymond J. Stastny, Arthur L. Cash, Terry W. McNett, George M. Montoya, Paul S. Seema, Everett E. Hatcher, Rickie C. Finley, Joseph T. Aversa, Wallie Howard, Jr., Eugene T. McCarthy, Alan H. Winn, George D. Althouse, Becky L. Dwojeski, Stephen J. Strehl, Richard E. Fass, Frank Fernandez, Jr., Jay W. Seale, Meredith Thompson, Juan C. Vars, Frank S. Wallace, Jr., Shelly D. Bland, Rona L. Chafey, Carrol June Fields, Carrie A. Lenz, Kenneth G. McCullough, Shaun E. Curl, Larry Steilen, Royce D. Tramel, Alice Faye Hall-Walton, Elton Lee Armstead, Terry Loftus, Donald C. Ware, Jay Balchunas, Thomas J. Byrne, Jr., Samuel Hicks, Forrest N. Leamon, Chad L. Michael, and Michael E. Weston;

    Whereas many other DEA employees and task force officers have been wounded or injured in the line of duty, including 91 who have received DEA’s Purple Heart Award; and

    Whereas over 9,500 employees of DEA, including special agents, intelligence analysts, diversion investigators, program analysts, forensic chemists, attorneys, and administrative support, plus more than 2,000 task force officers, and hundreds of vetted foreign drug law enforcement officers are all working tirelessly to hunt down and bring to justice those who seek to poison our citizens with dangerous narcotics: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

(1) congratulates the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) on the occasion of its 40th anniversary;

(2) honors the heroic sacrifice of the agency’s employees who have given their lives or have been wounded or injured in service of our Nation; and

(3) gives heartfelt thanks to all the men and women of DEA for their past and continued efforts to defend the American people from the scourge of illegal drugs and terrorism.

Share This