Text: H.Res.294 — 113th Congress (2013-2014)All Information (Except Text)

There is one version of the bill.

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (07/09/2013)

1st Session
H. RES. 294

Congratulating the Miami Heat for winning the 2013 National Basketball Association Championship.


July 9, 2013

Ms. Wilson of Florida (for herself, Ms. Ros-Lehtinen, Mr. Hastings of Florida, Mr. Diaz-Balart, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Mr. Garcia, Ms. Frankel of Florida, and Mr. Deutch) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform


Congratulating the Miami Heat for winning the 2013 National Basketball Association Championship.

    Whereas, the Miami Heat won their third National Basketball Association (NBA) Championship in franchise history on Thursday, June 20, 2013, by defeating the San Antonio Spurs with a score of 95 to 88 in the seventh game of the NBA finals, in Miami, Florida, at the American Airlines Arena;

    Whereas, during the 2013 NBA playoffs, the Miami Heat defeated the Milwaukee Bucks, Chicago Bulls, Indiana Pacers, and San Antonio Spurs;

    Whereas, the Miami Heat are the second team in five years to win back-to-back championships, and the Miami Heat are the first to defeat the San Antonio Spurs in the NBA finals;

    Whereas, since its founding in 1988, the Miami Heat has won three world championships, four conference titles, nine division titles, and made 17 playoff appearances;

    Whereas, the 2012–2013 Miami Heat organization is comprised of players: Ray Allen, Chris Anderson, Joel Anthony, Shane Battier, Chris Bosh, Mario Chalmers, Norris Cole, Udonis Haslem, Juwan Howard, LeBron James, James Jones, Rashard Lewis, Mike Miller, Jarvis Varnado, Dwyane Wade;

    Whereas, LeBron James was named the NBA Most Valuable Player during the 2012–2013 regular season, was named the NBA Most Valuable Player during the 2013 finals, and joined Michael Jordan and Bill Russell as the only players in NBA history to win back-to-back NBA finals and regular season MVP awards;

    Whereas, the San Antonio Spurs were seconds away from winning the NBA finals until Ray Allen hit a clutch three-pointer, sending the game into overtime and forcing a decisive game seven;

    Whereas, the Miami Heat coaching staff exhibited exemplary leadership and guidance;

    Whereas, the Miami Heat coaching staff included: Erik Spoelstra, Head Coach; Bob McAdoo, Assistant Coach; Ron Rothstein, Assistant Coach; David Fizdale, Assistant Coach; Chad Kammerer, Assistant Coach; Octavio De La Grana, Assistant Coach; Bill Foran, Strength and Conditioning Coach; Jay Sabol, Athletic Trainer; Rey Jaffet, Assistant Trainer; Rob Pimental, Assistant Trainer;

    Whereas, the Miami Heat management has shown a positive commitment to the Miami Heat franchise by successfully acquiring, assembling, and maintaining a team of high-quality, winning players;

    Whereas, the Miami Heat Organization consists of executive staff, including: Micky Arison, Managing General Partner; Nick Arison, Chief Executive Officer; Pat Riley, President; Erik Spoeistra, Head Coach; Eric Woolworth, President, Business Operations; Michael McCullough, Executive Vice President/CMO; Mike Walker, Executive Vice President, HEAT Group Enterprises; Alonzo Mourning, Vice President, Player Programs; Stephen Weber, Executive Vice President, Sales; Kim Stone, Executive Vice President/General Manager, American Airlines Arena; Sammy Schulman, Executive Vice President/CFO; Raquel Libman, Executive Vice President/General Counsel;

    Whereas, the Miami Heat players have been outstanding role models on and off the court;

    Whereas, the Miami Heat organization has enriched the South Florida community through public service programs, including: Heat Academy; Heat Scholarships; Miami Heat Read to Achieve; Miami Heat Fund-Raiser; Miami Heat Wheels; Shoot for the Stars; Books and Basketball Summer Clinics; Heat Youth Basketball; Miami Heat Learn to Swim Program;

    Whereas, the Miami Heat fans have been an integral part of this championship by providing unwavering support throughout the entire season, and each and every season prior; and

    Whereas, the Miami Heat performance against the San Antonio Spurs during the 2013 NBA finals will go down as one of the greatest series in NBA history: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives honors the entire Miami Heat organization for winning the 2013 NBA World Championship.