Text: S.1004 — 114th Congress (2015-2016)All Information (Except Text)

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Public Law No: 114-240 (10/07/2016)

 
[114th Congress Public Law 240]
[From the U.S. Government Publishing Office]



[[Page 130 STAT. 974]]

Public Law 114-240
114th Congress

                                 An Act


 
   To amend title 36, United States Code, to encourage the nationwide 
observance of two minutes of silence each Veterans Day. <<NOTE: Oct. 7, 
                          2016 -  [S. 1004]>> 

    Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the 
United States of America in Congress assembled, <<NOTE: Veterans Day 
Moment of Silence Act.>> 
SECTION 1. <<NOTE: 36 USC 101 note.>>  SHORT TITLE.

    This Act may be cited as the ``Veterans Day Moment of Silence Act''.
SEC. 2. OBSERVANCE OF VETERANS DAY.

    (a) Two Minutes of Silence.--Chapter 1 of title 36, United States 
Code, is amended by adding at the end the following new section:
``Sec. 145. <<NOTE: President. Proclamation. 36 USC 145.>>  
                Veterans Day

    ``The President shall issue each year a proclamation calling on the 
people of the United States to observe two minutes of silence on 
Veterans Day in honor of the service and sacrifice of veterans 
throughout the history of the Nation, beginning at--
            ``(1) 3:11 p.m. Atlantic standard time;
            ``(2) 2:11 p.m. eastern standard time;
            ``(3) 1:11 p.m. central standard time;
            ``(4) 12:11 p.m. mountain standard time;
            ``(5) 11:11 a.m. Pacific standard time;
            ``(6) 10:11 a.m. Alaska standard time; and
            ``(7) 9:11 a.m. Hawaii-Aleutian standard time.''.

[[Page 130 STAT. 975]]

    (b) Clerical Amendment.--The table of sections for chapter 1 of 
title 36, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the 
following new item:

``145. Veterans Day.''.

    Approved October 7, 2016.

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY--S. 1004:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

CONGRESSIONAL RECORD:
                                                        Vol. 161 (2015):
                                    Nov. 9, considered and passed 
                                        Senate.
                                                        Vol. 162 (2016):
                                    Sept. 27, considered and passed 
                                        House.

                                  <all>