Summary: H.R.196 — 115th Congress (2017-2018)All Information (Except Text)

There is one summary for H.R.196. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (01/03/2017)

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals Judgeship and Reorganization Act of 2017

This bill divides the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit into: (1) the Ninth Circuit, composed of California, Guam, Hawaii, and Northern Mariana Islands; and (2) the Twelfth Circuit, composed of Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington.

The President must appoint two additional judges for the former Ninth Circuit, three judges for the new Ninth Circuit, and two additional temporary judges for the former Ninth Circuit.

The bill: (1) specifies the locations where new circuits are to hold regular sessions, (2) distributes active circuit judges of the former Ninth Circuit to the new circuits, (3) allows senior circuit judges of the former Ninth Circuit to elect assignment, and (4) authorizes administrative coordination between any two contiguous circuits.