Text: H.R.4961 — 115th Congress (2017-2018)All Information (Except Text)

There is one version of the bill.

Text available as:

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (02/07/2018)

2d Session
H. R. 4961

To provide for the compensation of Federal employees furloughed during a Government shutdown.


February 7, 2018

Mr. Beyer (for himself, Mr. Wittman, Mr. Garamendi, Mr. Serrano, Mr. DeSaulnier, Mr. Pocan, Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania, Ms. Norton, Mrs. Comstock, Mr. Kilmer, Ms. Barragán, Mr. Perlmutter, Ms. Shea-Porter, Mr. Connolly, Mr. Cicilline, Ms. Clark of Massachusetts, Mr. Cummings, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Ms. Meng, Mr. Lowenthal, Ms. Pingree, Mr. Takano, Mr. Brown of Maryland, Mr. Hoyer, Mr. Raskin, Mr. Delaney, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Vargas, Mr. Sarbanes, Mr. Meeks, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Ms. DeLauro, Mr. Payne, Mr. Veasey, Mr. Blumenauer, Ms. Kuster of New Hampshire, Mrs. Carolyn B. Maloney of New York, Mr. Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico, Mr. Cole, Ms. Clarke of New York, Ms. Lee, Mr. Yarmuth, Mr. Welch, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Lewis of Georgia, Mr. Langevin, Ms. Michelle Lujan Grisham of New Mexico, Mrs. Lowey, Mrs. Bustos, Ms. Moore, Mr. Soto, Ms. McCollum, Mr. Clay, Ms. Eshoo, Mr. Ruppersberger, Mr. McEachin, Mr. Brendan F. Boyle of Pennsylvania, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Foster, Mr. O'Halleran, Mrs. Watson Coleman, Mr. Courtney, Mr. Cohen, Ms. Schakowsky, Ms. Adams, Mr. Visclosky, Mr. Hastings, Mr. Ryan of Ohio, Mr. Danny K. Davis of Illinois, Mr. Cartwright, Ms. Hanabusa, Ms. Stefanik, Mr. Vela, Mr. Michael F. Doyle of Pennsylvania, Ms. Plaskett, Mr. Griffith, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Carson of Indiana, Mr. Lawson of Florida, Mr. McNerney, Ms. Esty of Connecticut, Mr. Evans, Mr. Pallone, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. Costa, Ms. Blunt Rochester, Mr. Panetta, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Sires, Mr. Jones, Mr. Correa, Mr. Crist, Ms. Bordallo, Mrs. Demings, and Ms. Slaughter) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform


To provide for the compensation of Federal employees furloughed during a Government shutdown.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,

SECTION 1. Short title.

This Act may be cited as the “Federal Employee Retroactive Pay Fairness Act”.

SEC. 2. Compensation for Federal employees furloughed during a Government shutdown.

Federal employees furloughed as a result of any lapse in appropriations that begins on or about February 8, 2018, shall be compensated at their standard rate of compensation, for the period of such lapse in appropriations, as soon as practicable after such lapse in appropriations ends.