Summary: S.1768 — 115th Congress (2017-2018)All Information (Except Text)

Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Public Law No: 115-307 (12/11/2018)

National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program Reauthorization Act of 2018

This bill amends the Earthquake Hazards Reduction Act of 1977 to reauthorize through FY2023, and expand activities under, the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program to include: (1) gathering information on community resilience (i.e., the ability of a community to prepare for, recover from, and adapt to earthquakes); (2) publishing a systematic set of maps of active faults and folds, liquefaction susceptibility, susceptibility for earthquake-induced landslides, and other seismically induced hazards; and (3) continuing the development of the Advanced National Seismic System, including earthquake early warning capabilities.

(Sec. 2) The bill modifies the Act's findings to include Puerto Rico as vulnerable to the hazards of earthquakes, and adds Oregon and Tennessee to the list of states cited as having major or moderate seismic risk.

(Sec. 3) With respect to earthquake hazard reduction activities, the bill revises or expands the duties of: (1) the Interagency Coordinating Committee on Earthquake Hazards Reduction, (2) the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), (3) the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), (4) the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), and (5) the National Science Foundation.

(Sec. 4) The Government Accountability Office shall complete a review of federal earthquake hazard risk reduction efforts.

(Sec. 5) NIST and FEMA must jointly convene a committee of experts to assess and recommend options for improving seismic safety standards.

(Sec. 6) The USGS must submit to Congress a five-year management plan for the continued operation of the Advanced National Seismic System.