Summary: S.3259 — 115th Congress (2017-2018)All Information (Except Text)

There is one summary for S.3259. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in Senate (07/24/2018)

Judicial Efficiency Improvement Act

This bill divides the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit into two judicial circuits: (1) the Ninth Circuit, and (2) a new Twelfth Circuit.

The new Ninth Circuit shall be composed of California, Guam, Hawaii, and Northern Mariana Islands. The new Twelfth Circuit shall be composed of the following states: Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington.

The bill creates five additional circuit court judgeships—four in the Ninth Circuit and one in the new Twelfth Circuit.

It creates 52 additional district court judgeships in specified judicial districts in California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Puerto Rico, and Texas.

Additionally, it converts eight temporary district court judgeships to permanent judgeships in specified judicial districts in Kansas, Missouri, Arizona, California, Florida, New Mexico, North Carolina, and Texas.