Summary: S.713 — 115th Congress (2017-2018)All Information (Except Text)

Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Reported to Senate with amendment(s) (06/26/2017)

National Heritage Area Authorization Act of 2017

(Sec. 3) This bill establishes:

  • the Appalachian Forest National Heritage Area in West Virginia and Maryland,
  • the Maritime Washington National Heritage Area and the Mountains to Sound Greenway National Heritage Area in Washington state, and
  • the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta National Heritage Area in California.

A local coordinating entity is designated for each heritage area.

(Sec. 4) Each local coordinating entity shall: (1) prepare and submit for approval by the Department of the Interior a management plan for its respective heritage area; and (2) not use federal funding made available under this bill for the acquisition of real property or any interest in real property.