There is 1 version of this bill. View text

Click the check-box to add or remove the section, click the text link to scroll to that section.
Titles Actions Overview All Actions Cosponsors Committees Related Bills Subjects Latest Summary All Summaries

Titles (2)

Short Titles

Short Titles - House of Representatives

Short Titles as Introduced

National Suicide Hotline Designation Act of 2019

Official Titles

Official Titles - House of Representatives

Official Title as Introduced

To amend the Communications Act of 1934 to direct the Federal Communications Commission to designate 9-8-8 as the universal telephone number for the purpose of the national suicide prevention and mental health crisis hotline system operating through the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline and through the Veterans Crisis Line, and for other purposes.

Actions Overview (1)

08/20/2019Introduced in House

All Actions (2)

08/20/2019Referred to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce.
Action By: House of Representatives
08/20/2019Introduced in House
Action By: House of Representatives

Cosponsors (113)

* = Original cosponsor
CosponsorDate Cosponsored
Rep. Moulton, Seth [D-MA-6]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Gianforte, Greg [R-MT-At Large]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Johnson, Eddie Bernice [D-TX-30]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Balderson, Troy [R-OH-12]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Bergman, Jack [R-MI-1]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Bishop, Rob [R-UT-1]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Brown, Anthony G. [D-MD-4]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Calvert, Ken [R-CA-42]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Cardenas, Tony [D-CA-29]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Carson, Andre [D-IN-7]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Cisneros, Gilbert Ray, Jr. [D-CA-39]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Clarke, Yvette D. [D-NY-9]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Cleaver, Emanuel [D-MO-5]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Cole, Tom [R-OK-4]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Collins, Chris [R-NY-27]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Crawford, Eric A. "Rick" [R-AR-1]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Curtis, John R. [R-UT-3]* 08/20/2019
Rep. DeFazio, Peter A. [D-OR-4]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Barragan, Nanette Diaz [D-CA-44]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Dingell, Debbie [D-MI-12]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Fitzpatrick, Brian K. [R-PA-1]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Gallagher, Mike [R-WI-8]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Gallego, Ruben [D-AZ-7]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Grijalva, Raul M. [D-AZ-3]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Hastings, Alcee L. [D-FL-20]* 08/20/2019
Rep. King, Peter T. [R-NY-2]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Lowenthal, Alan S. [D-CA-47]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Marshall, Roger W. [R-KS-1]* 08/20/2019
Rep. McKinley, David B. [R-WV-1]* 08/20/2019
Rep. McMorris Rodgers, Cathy [R-WA-5]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Moolenaar, John R. [R-MI-4]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Norton, Eleanor Holmes [D-DC-At Large]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Olson, Pete [R-TX-22]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Payne, Donald M., Jr. [D-NJ-10]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Raskin, Jamie [D-MD-8]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Roe, David P. [R-TN-1]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Rose, Max [D-NY-11]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Roybal-Allard, Lucille [D-CA-40]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Rutherford, John H. [R-FL-4]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Ryan, Tim [D-OH-13]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Serrano, Jose E. [D-NY-15]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Sires, Albio [D-NJ-8]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Soto, Darren [D-FL-9]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Steil, Bryan [R-WI-1]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Stivers, Steve [R-OH-15]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Turner, Michael R. [R-OH-10]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Velazquez, Nydia M. [D-NY-7]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Waltz, Michael [R-FL-6]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Watson Coleman, Bonnie [D-NJ-12]* 08/20/2019
Rep. Cooper, Jim [D-TN-5] 08/23/2019
Rep. Swalwell, Eric [D-CA-15] 08/23/2019
Rep. Kuster, Ann M. [D-NH-2] 08/23/2019
Rep. Jackson Lee, Sheila [D-TX-18] 08/30/2019
Rep. DelBene, Suzan K. [D-WA-1] 08/30/2019
Rep. Maloney, Sean Patrick [D-NY-18] 08/30/2019
Rep. Reschenthaler, Guy [R-PA-14] 08/30/2019
Rep. Wagner, Ann [R-MO-2] 08/30/2019
Rep. Lawson, Al, Jr. [D-FL-5] 08/30/2019
Rep. Rouda, Harley [D-CA-48] 08/30/2019
Rep. Wild, Susan [D-PA-7] 09/06/2019
Rep. Eshoo, Anna G. [D-CA-18] 09/09/2019
Rep. Morelle, Joseph D. [D-NY-25] 09/09/2019
Rep. DeGette, Diana [D-CO-1] 09/09/2019
Rep. McGovern, James P. [D-MA-2] 09/10/2019
Rep. Garamendi, John [D-CA-3] 09/10/2019
Rep. Schrader, Kurt [D-OR-5] 09/10/2019
Rep. Axne, Cynthia [D-IA-3] 09/11/2019
Rep. Buchanan, Vern [R-FL-16] 09/13/2019
Rep. Cicilline, David N. [D-RI-1] 09/13/2019
Rep. Brownley, Julia [D-CA-26] 09/13/2019
Rep. Gonzalez, Anthony [R-OH-16] 09/18/2019
Rep. Ocasio-Cortez, Alexandria [D-NY-14] 09/18/2019
Rep. Higgins, Brian [D-NY-26] 09/18/2019
Rep. Houlahan, Chrissy [D-PA-6] 09/18/2019
Rep. Delgado, Antonio [D-NY-19] 09/18/2019
Rep. Correa, J. Luis [D-CA-46] 09/24/2019
Rep. Langevin, James R. [D-RI-2] 10/04/2019
Rep. Horn, Kendra S. [D-OK-5] 10/04/2019
Rep. Case, Ed [D-HI-1] 10/04/2019
Rep. Ruppersberger, C. A. Dutch [D-MD-2] 10/04/2019
Rep. Perlmutter, Ed [D-CO-7] 10/04/2019
Rep. Gonzalez, Vicente [D-TX-15] 10/04/2019
Rep. Lipinski, Daniel [D-IL-3] 10/11/2019
Rep. Himes, James A. [D-CT-4] 10/11/2019
Rep. Neguse, Joe [D-CO-2] 10/11/2019
Rep. Pingree, Chellie [D-ME-1] 10/16/2019
Rep. Slotkin, Elissa [D-MI-8] 10/18/2019
Rep. Yarmuth, John A. [D-KY-3] 10/21/2019
Rep. Schrier, Kim [D-WA-8] 10/21/2019
Rep. Luria, Elaine G. [D-VA-2] 10/28/2019
Rep. Lofgren, Zoe [D-CA-19] 10/28/2019
Rep. Davis, Susan A. [D-CA-53] 10/28/2019
Rep. Lee, Barbara [D-CA-13] 10/28/2019
Rep. Mucarsel-Powell, Debbie [D-FL-26] 10/28/2019
Rep. Kilmer, Derek [D-WA-6] 10/29/2019
Rep. Brooks, Susan W. [R-IN-5] 10/29/2019
Rep. Bilirakis, Gus M. [R-FL-12] 10/31/2019
Rep. Schneider, Bradley Scott [D-IL-10] 10/31/2019
Rep. Napolitano, Grace F. [D-CA-32] 10/31/2019
Rep. LaMalfa, Doug [R-CA-1] 11/01/2019
Rep. Panetta, Jimmy [D-CA-20] 11/12/2019
Rep. Tonko, Paul [D-NY-20] 11/12/2019
Rep. Latta, Robert E. [R-OH-5] 11/13/2019
Rep. Craig, Angie [D-MN-2] 11/14/2019
Rep. Emmer, Tom [R-MN-6] 11/14/2019
Rep. Kind, Ron [D-WI-3] 11/14/2019
Rep. Hill, J. French [R-AR-2] 11/21/2019
Rep. Trone, David J. [D-MD-6] 11/21/2019
Rep. Crow, Jason [D-CO-6] 11/21/2019
Rep. Tipton, Scott R. [R-CO-3] 11/21/2019
Rep. Lowey, Nita M. [D-NY-17] 12/03/2019
Rep. Levin, Andy [D-MI-9] 12/04/2019
Rep. Flores, Bill [R-TX-17] 12/04/2019

Committees (1)

Committees, subcommittees and links to reports associated with this bill are listed here, as well as the nature and date of committee activity and Congressional report number.

Committee / Subcommittee Date Activity Reports
House Energy and Commerce08/20/2019 Referred to

A related bill may be a companion measure, an identical bill, a procedurally-related measure, or one with text similarities. Bill relationships are identified by the House, the Senate, or CRS, and refer only to same-congress measures.

Subjects (1)

Latest Summary (1)

There is one summary for H.R.4194. View summaries

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (08/20/2019)

National Suicide Hotline Designation Act of 2019

This bill requires the Federal Communications Commission to designate 9–8–8 as the universal telephone number for a national suicide prevention and mental-health crisis hotline.