There is 1 version of this bill. View text

Click the check-box to add or remove the section, click the text link to scroll to that section.
Titles Actions Overview All Actions Cosponsors Committees Related Bills Subjects Latest Summary All Summaries

Titles (2)

Short Titles

Short Titles - House of Representatives

Short Title(s) as Introduced

Local Journalism Sustainability Act

Official Titles

Official Titles - House of Representatives

Official Title as Introduced

To provide tax incentives that support local newspapers and other local media, and for other purposes.

Actions Overview (1)

Date Actions Overview
07/16/2020Introduced in House

All Actions (2)

Date All Actions
07/16/2020Referred to the House Committee on Ways and Means.
Action By: House of Representatives
07/16/2020Introduced in House
Action By: House of Representatives

Cosponsors (78)

* = Original cosponsor
CosponsorDate Cosponsored
Rep. Newhouse, Dan [R-WA-4]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Fitzpatrick, Brian K. [R-PA-1]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Suozzi, Thomas R. [D-NY-3]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Welch, Peter [D-VT-At Large]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Davis, Rodney [R-IL-13]* 07/16/2020
Rep. McKinley, David B. [R-WV-1]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Visclosky, Peter J. [D-IN-1]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Peterson, Collin C. [D-MN-7]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Harder, Josh [D-CA-10]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Heck, Denny [D-WA-10]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Takano, Mark [D-CA-41]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Carson, Andre [D-IN-7]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Fleischmann, Charles J. "Chuck" [R-TN-3]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Grijalva, Raul M. [D-AZ-3]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Lynch, Stephen F. [D-MA-8]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Weber, Randy K., Sr. [R-TX-14]* 07/16/2020
Rep. Kilmer, Derek [D-WA-6] 07/20/2020
Rep. Lujan, Ben Ray [D-NM-3] 07/20/2020
Rep. Cole, Tom [R-OK-4] 07/23/2020
Rep. Haaland, Debra A. [D-NM-1] 07/23/2020
Rep. McGovern, James P. [D-MA-2] 07/23/2020
Rep. Roe, David P. [R-TN-1] 07/27/2020
Rep. O'Halleran, Tom [D-AZ-1] 07/27/2020
Rep. Pocan, Mark [D-WI-2] 07/27/2020
Rep. Smith, Adam [D-WA-9] 08/04/2020
Rep. Buchanan, Vern [R-FL-16] 08/04/2020
Rep. Zeldin, Lee M. [R-NY-1] 08/04/2020
Rep. Stefanik, Elise M. [R-NY-21] 08/04/2020
Rep. Espaillat, Adriano [D-NY-13] 08/04/2020
Rep. Herrera Beutler, Jaime [R-WA-3] 08/07/2020
Rep. Rush, Bobby L. [D-IL-1] 08/07/2020
Rep. Rice, Kathleen M. [D-NY-4] 08/07/2020
Rep. King, Peter T. [R-NY-2] 08/07/2020
Rep. Flores, Bill [R-TX-17] 08/07/2020
Rep. Katko, John [R-NY-24] 08/07/2020
Rep. Moulton, Seth [D-MA-6] 08/07/2020
Rep. Carbajal, Salud O. [D-CA-24] 08/07/2020
Rep. Tiffany, Thomas P. [R-WI-7] 08/11/2020
Rep. DesJarlais, Scott [R-TN-4] 08/11/2020
Rep. Cox, TJ [D-CA-21] 08/14/2020
Rep. Brindisi, Anthony [D-NY-22] 08/14/2020
Rep. Carter, John R. [R-TX-31] 08/14/2020
Rep. Kuster, Ann M. [D-NH-2] 08/14/2020
Del. Norton, Eleanor Holmes [D-DC-At Large] 08/14/2020
Rep. Larson, John B. [D-CT-1] 08/22/2020
Rep. Tonko, Paul [D-NY-20] 08/22/2020
Rep. DeFazio, Peter A. [D-OR-4] 08/22/2020
Rep. Fletcher, Lizzie [D-TX-7] 08/25/2020
Rep. Gohmert, Louie [R-TX-1] 08/25/2020
Rep. Swalwell, Eric [D-CA-15] 08/28/2020
Rep. Bustos, Cheri [D-IL-17] 08/28/2020
Rep. Courtney, Joe [D-CT-2] 08/28/2020
Rep. Hayes, Jahana [D-CT-5] 09/04/2020
Rep. DeSaulnier, Mark [D-CA-11] 09/04/2020
Rep. Bonamici, Suzanne [D-OR-1] 09/04/2020
Rep. Schrier, Kim [D-WA-8] 09/11/2020
Rep. Sewell, Terri A. [D-AL-7] 09/11/2020
Rep. DeLauro, Rosa L. [D-CT-3] 09/14/2020
Rep. Lieu, Ted [D-CA-33] 09/18/2020
Rep. DelBene, Suzan K. [D-WA-1] 09/18/2020
Rep. Maloney, Carolyn B. [D-NY-12] 09/22/2020
Rep. Young, Don [R-AK-At Large] 09/29/2020
Rep. Rose, Max [D-NY-11] 09/29/2020
Rep. McCollum, Betty [D-MN-4] 09/30/2020
Rep. Jayapal, Pramila [D-WA-7] 09/30/2020
Rep. Khanna, Ro [D-CA-17] 10/01/2020
Rep. Evans, Dwight [D-PA-3] 10/13/2020
Rep. Meeks, Gregory W. [D-NY-5] 10/13/2020
Rep. Meng, Grace [D-NY-6] 10/13/2020
Rep. Cunningham, Joe [D-SC-1] 10/13/2020
Rep. Kim, Andy [D-NJ-3] 10/13/2020
Rep. Panetta, Jimmy [D-CA-20] 10/13/2020
Rep. Larsen, Rick [D-WA-2] 10/23/2020
Rep. Clarke, Yvette D. [D-NY-9] 10/23/2020
Rep. Nadler, Jerrold [D-NY-10] 10/23/2020
Rep. Dean, Madeleine [D-PA-4] 10/23/2020
Rep. Serrano, Jose E. [D-NY-15] 11/02/2020
Rep. Velazquez, Nydia M. [D-NY-7] 11/12/2020

Committees (1)

Committees, subcommittees and links to reports associated with this bill are listed here, as well as the nature and date of committee activity and Congressional report number.

Committee / Subcommittee Date Activity Related Documents
House Ways and Means07/16/2020 Referred to

No related bill information was received for H.R.7640.

Latest Summary (1)

There is one summary for H.R.7640. View summaries

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (07/16/2020)

Local Journalism Sustainability Act

This bill allows individual and business taxpayers certain tax credits for the support of local newspapers and media. Specifically, individual taxpayers may claim an income tax credit up to $250 for a local newspaper subscription.

The bill also allows local newspaper employers a payroll tax credit for wages paid to an employee for service as a journalist and certain small businesses a tax credit for local newspaper and media advertising expenses.