Summary: S.2031 — 96th Congress (1979-1980)All Information (Except Text)

There is one summary for S.2031. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in Senate (11/20/1979)

Oregon Wilderness Act of 1979 - Designates specified wilderness lands in the following national forests in Oregon as components of the National Wilderness Preservation System: (1) Mount Hood National Forest; (2) Willamette National Forest; (3) Ochoco National Forest; (4) Fremont National Forest; (5) Siuslaw National Forest; (6) Umpqua National Forest; (7) Umatilla National Forest; (8) Rogue River National Forest; (9) Winema National Forest; (10) Deschutes National Forest; (11) Malheur National Forest; and (12) Wallowa-Whitman National Forest.

Establishes the Oregon Cascades National Conservation Area within the Umpqua, Willamette, Winema, and Deschutes National Forests, to be administered by the Secretary of Agriculture in accordance with the laws and regulations applicable to the National Forest System.

Withdraws the minerals located within such Conservation Area from location, entry, and patent under the United States mining laws and disposition under the mineral leasing laws, effective January 1, 1984, and subject to valid existing rights.

Allows the Secretary to permit, under appropriate regulations, those limited activities and facilities which are determined necessary for resource protection and management or for visitor safety and comfort.

Designates specified lands within the Conservation Area as wilderness, to be administered by the Secretary of Agriculture in accordance with the applicable provisions of the Wilderness Act.

Requires the Secretary to prepare, within two years after the date of enactment of this Act, an integrated management plan for the Conservation Area and the wilderness area.

Declares that lands within the National Forest System in Oregon which have been studied as a part of the Secretary of Agriculture's Roadless Area Review and Evaluation Program (RARE II) and which are not identified by the Secretary for further planning, not designated as wilderness, or included in the Conservation Area by this Act are: (1) not intended by Congress to be designated as lands for inclusion in the National Wilderness Preservation System; (2) lands which shall continue to be available for uses other than wilderness; and (3) lands which no department or agency of the United States shall study for the single purpose of determining their suitability or nonsuitability for inclusion in the National Preservation System.