There is one summary for H.R.5475. Bill summaries are authored by CRS.

Shown Here:
Introduced in House (08/15/1986)

Amends the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 to prohibit the President from waiving the prohibition against providing assistance under such Act to any communist country unless the President finds and reports to the Congress that: (1) such assistance is vital to U.S. security; (2) in the case of countries specifically named in such Act as communist countries, the government of the recipient country no longer maintains a centrally-planned economy based on the Marxist-Leninist principles; (3) the government of the recipient country respects and observes internationally recognized standards of human rights; and (4) the assistance will encourage the deliverance of the recipient country from dependence on the Soviet Union or any other communist country.

Adds to the list of countries designated as communist countries: (1) Cambodia; (2) Guyana; (3) Czechoslovakia; (4) Afghanistan; (5) Laos; (6) South Yemen; (7) Angola; (8) Benin; (9) Congo; (10) Mozambique; (11) Nicaragua; (12) Ethiopia; and (13) Surinam.

Requires the President, whenever the United States is providing disaster relief to a communist country, to report to the Congress every three months on the steps being taken by that government to alleviate the conditions that make such assistance necessary.