(Senate - June 26, 2012)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.


[Page S4635]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []

                          MONROE, SOUTH DAKOTA

 Mr. THUNE. Mr. President, today I wish to recognize Monroe, 
SD. The town of Monroe will commemorate the 125th anniversary of its 
founding this year.
  First known as Warrington, Monroe was named after the fifth President 
of the United States, James Monroe. The first settlers, predominantly 
German and Dutch, came to Monroe to build a community for their 
children and future generations.
  Most settlers lived in sod houses and relied on agriculture because 
the land was fertile. As did many young communities during that time, 
Monroe felt more than its fair share of hardships, including a fire 
that destroyed many businesses on Main Street in 1915. With hardships, 
there also came success. With community cooperation, the tenacious town 
rebuilt and now celebrates 125 years of hard work and dedication.
  Monroe has been a successful community for the past 125 years, and I 
am confident it will continue to serve as an example of South Dakota 
values and traditions. I would like to offer my congratulations to the 
citizens of Monroe on this landmark occasion and wish them continued 
prosperity in the years to come.