(House of Representatives - April 26, 2013)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.


[Page H2377]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []


  (Mr. VEASEY asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 
  Mr. VEASEY. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize an extraordinary 
group of students in the city of Fort Worth that I'm honored to 
represent in Congress. Alejandra Benavidez, Consuelo Cuevas, Nian Dim, 
Elijah Herring, Miguel Lopez, Mariah Mathews, and Yesenia Ortiz each 
have been awarded a community scholarship to attend Texas Christian 
  TCU recognizes the benefits of having a diverse student body with 
varied backgrounds and experiences. In order to help ensure this, the 
university began the Community Scholars program in 1999 to bring 
students in who would otherwise not be able to afford a college 
education. The program has grown to include 11 high schools in the 
north Texas area, with 30 scholarships given each year, and boasts a 90 
percent college graduation rate.
  The students chosen from Fort Worth's Trimble Technical High School 
add to the prestige and quality of the Community Scholars program and 
TCU overall. Each of these students are bright, motivated, and 
accomplished. Not only do these students exhibit academic excellence, 
but they also take part in volunteer work, extracurricular activities, 
and demonstrate leadership in their communities. Once again I want to 
commend these students. I know they will wear their purple with pride.