HONORING WOMEN OF INFLUENCE; Congressional Record Vol. 159, No. 74
(Extensions of Remarks - May 23, 2013)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E749]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]

                      HONORING WOMEN OF INFLUENCE


                      HON. MICHELLE LUJAN GRISHAM

                             of new mexico

                    in the house of representatives

                         Thursday, May 23, 2013

  Ms. MICHELLE LUJAN GRISHAM of New Mexico. Mr. Speaker, I rise to 
honor 32 women who were recognized as New Mexico ``Women of Influence'' 
for 2013.
  It is important to highlight women in our communities who are 
achieving incredible success as local business and community leaders. 
Albuquerque Business First partnered with the local business community 
to evaluate a record number of nominations for the Women of Influence 
  I understand the challenges of being a small business owner and 
overcoming hurdles that are all-too-common for women in a male-
dominated culture. I appreciate and applaud this year's honorees, each 
of whom has contributed to the state of New Mexico in unique and 
exiting ways.
  New Mexico's Women of Influence include CEO's, educators, 
entrepreneurs, and leaders in financial services, government, health 
and fitness, non-profits and technology firms.

                           Business Services

  Virginia R. Dugan, Esquire, Atkinson & Kelsey, P.A.; Annette 
Gardiner, President, New Mexico Gas Company; Debra P. Hicks, PE/LSI, 
President and CEO, Pettigrew & Associates, P.A.; Jennifer Hise, Vice 
President, CEMCO, Inc.; Laurie Monfiletto, Vice President of Human 
Resources, PNM Resources; Dorothy Stermer, Manager, Sandia National 
Laboratories; Dr. Sandra Taylor-Sawyer, Director, NM Small Business 
Development Center, CEO, Dream Givers, LLC, Independent Associate, 


  Barbara Bergman, Interim Dean, University of New Mexico School of 
Law; Marilyn Melendez Dykman, Director, University of New Mexico 
Veterans Resource Center; Dr. Viola E. Florez, Professor and PNM 
Education Endowed Chair, University of New Mexico College of Education.


  Sherry M. Keeney, President/CEO, PECOS Management Services, Inc.; 
Janice J. Lucero, CEO/Owner, MVD Express; Susan MacLean, President & 
CEO, The Solutions Group; DeAnn Sena O'Connor, Creative Director, dso 

                           Financial Services

  Karen M. Bard, Wealth Management Advisor, Merrill Lynch; Dohnia 
Dorman, MBA, VP of Marketing, Rio Grande Credit Union, Part-Time 
Adjunct Lecturer II, UNM; Tammy S. Jaramillo, Director of 
Administration, Burt & Company CPAs, LLC.


  Mary Ann Chavez-Lopez, Executive Director, El Camino Real Housing 
Authority; Ann Lerner, Film Liaison, City of Albuquerque; Katherine 
Carroll Martinez, Director, Construction Industries Division/
Manufactured Housing Division, Regulation and Licensing Department, 
State of New Mexico.


  Kristie Bair, J.D., President, Bair Medical Spa; Gayle Dine'Chacon, 
MD, Surgeon General, Navajo Nation, Associate Professor, UNM School of 
Medicine; E. DeAnn Eaton Azar, CEO, Haverland Carter Lifestyle Group; 
Kim E. Hedrick, Vice President Strategic Business Development, 
University of New Mexico Medical Group, Inc.; Mary G. Martinez, 
Franchise Owner/CEO, Home Instead Senior Care; Dawn Tschabrun, COO, 
Chief Nursing Officer, Lovelace Regional Hospital-Roswell.


  Andrea Fisher Maril, CEO, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northern New 
Mexico; Kathy Mechenbier, Founder and president of the board, El 
Ranchito de los Ninos Inc.; Carol Wight, CEO, New Mexico Restaurant 


  Marjorie M.K. Hlava, President and chairman, Access Innovations Inc.; 
Caroline Dennis, Cyber Security and STEM education consultant; 
Elizabeth J. (Lisa) Kuuttila, President and CEO, STC.UNM.
  I congratulate these women leaders and thank them for their 
contributions to New Mexico.