SUBMITTED RESOLUTIONS; Congressional Record Vol. 161, No. 164
(Senate - November 04, 2015)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Page S7773]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []

                         SUBMITTED RESOLUTIONS



  Mr. BLUNT (for himself, Mrs. McCaskill, Mr. Roberts, and Mr. Moran) 
submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to:

                              S. Res. 305

       Whereas, on November 1, 2015, the Kansas City Royals won 
     the 2015 World Series with a 7-2 victory over the New York 
       Whereas the Kansas City Royals won the World Series in Game 
     5 at Citi Field in New York City, New York;
       Whereas the Royals scored 5 runs in the 12th inning of Game 
     5 of the World Series to take the lead and seal a dramatic 
       Whereas all 25 players on the playoff roster of the Royals 
     should be congratulated, including Johnny Cueto, Wade Davis, 
     Danny Duffy, Kelvin Herrera, Luke Hochevar, Ryan Madson, Kris 
     Medlen, Franklin Morales, Yordano Ventura, Edinson Volquez, 
     Chris Young, Drew Butera, Salvador Perez, Christian Colon, 
     Alcides Escobar, Eric Hosmer, Raul Mondesi, Kendrys Morales, 
     Mike Moustakas, Ben Zobrist, Lorenzo Cain, Jarrod Dyson, Alex 
     Gordon, Paulo Orlando, and Alex Rios;
       Whereas the front office, the clubhouse, and all supporting 
     staff and team members of the Kansas City Royals should be 
       Whereas the Royals won a remarkable 95 games during the 
     regular season, which earned the team the best record in the 
     American League;
       Whereas the American League won the Major League Baseball 
     All-Star Game, which ensured the Royals home field advantage 
     for the World Series;
       Whereas the Royals had 7 players selected to the 2015 Major 
     League Baseball All-Star Game, who should be congratulated, 
     including Alex Gordon, Lorenzo Cain, Alcides Escobar, 
     Salvador Perez, Kelvin Herrera, Wade Davis, and Mike 
       Whereas the Royals earned a postseason berth by clinching 
     the American League Central Division for the first time in 
     team history;
       Whereas the Royals earned a second American League 
     Championship pennant in 2 years;
       Whereas Royals catcher Salvador Perez received unanimous 
     support for and won the World Series Most Valuable Player 
     Award, after--
       (1) hitting .364 in the World Series;
       (2) driving in the tying run in the Royals' comeback in the 
     ninth inning of Game 5 of the World Series; and
       (3) sparking the Royals again in the 12th inning of Game 5 
     to seal the eventual win;
       Whereas 8 of the Royals' 11 playoff wins came after 
     trailing in the sixth inning or later;
       Whereas 6 of the Royals' playoff comeback wins erased 
     deficits of 2 runs or more, a playoff feat which had never 
     been achieved before;
       Whereas the Royals narrowly lost the 2014 World Series in 
     Game 7, fueling a determination--
       (1) to return to the World Series in 2015; and
       (2) to accomplish what the team came so close to 
     accomplishing 1 year earlier;
       Whereas the Royals won their second World Series 
     championship title in the 46-year history of the team and 
     their first World Series championship title in 30 years, 
     filling individuals in Kansas City and Royals fans everywhere 
     with pride;
       Whereas the Royals showed extraordinary steadiness, 
     teamwork, focus, and love of the game in proving again to be 
     an organization of great character, determination, and heart, 
     a reflection of the city of Kansas City and the State of 
     Missouri; and
       Whereas the Kansas City Royals are the 2015 World Series 
     champions: Now, therefore, be it
       Resolved, That the Senate--
       (1) commends the Kansas City Royals on their--
       (A) 2015 World Series championship title; and
       (B) outstanding performance during the 2015 Major League 
     Baseball season;
       (2) recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, 
     management, and support staff of the Kansas City Royals, 
     whose dedication and persistence made victory possible;
       (3) congratulates--
       (A) the city of Kansas City;
       (B) the entire bi-state Kansas City metropolitan area; and
       (C) Kansas City Royals fans everywhere; and
       (4) respectfully requests that the Secretary of the Senate 
     transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to--
       (A) the city of Kansas City, Missouri mayor, Hon. Sylvester 
     ``Sly'' James;
       (B) Kansas City Royals president Mr. Dan Glass and Kansas 
     City Royals general manager Mr. Dayton Moore; and
       (C) Kansas City Royals manager Mr. Ned Yost.