(Senate - September 28, 2016)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Pages S6242-S6243]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []

                          THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY

  Mr. WICKER (for himself, Mr. Cochran, and Mr. Graham) submitted the 
following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the 

                              S. Res. 589

       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary was founded in 
     Jackson, Mississippi, in 1966, with the mission of serving 
     the Christian community by preparing Christian leaders 
     through a program of graduate theological education;
       Whereas the vision for Reformed Theological Seminary 
     originated in a prayer meeting of the following 5 Mississippi 
     pastors: Sam Patterson, Erskine Jackson, John Reed Miller, 
     James Spencer, and William Stanway;
       Whereas the founders of Reformed Theological Seminary were 
     Sam Patterson, Robert Cannada, Erskine Wells, Frank Horton, 
     Bob Kennington, and Frank Tindall, and early board members 
     included Elliott Belcher, Robert Rugeley, Hugh Potts, Emory 
     Folmar, Gettys Guille, H.S. Williford, Sr., Horace Hull, 
     Charles Harmon, and Roy LeCraw, many of whom were prominent 
       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary opened its doors to 
     14 students from 8 colleges and 3 denominations in 1966, and 
     has educated well over 12,000 students through the years, 
     with over 6,000 graduates serving the Lord and the Christian 
     Church in more than 80 countries around the world;
       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary is the largest 
     accredited seminary in the State of Mississippi;
       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary has campuses and 
     extensions in--
       (1) Jackson, Mississippi;
       (2) Orlando, Florida;
       (3) Charlotte, North Carolina;
       (4) Atlanta, Georgia;
       (5) Houston, Texas;
       (6) Memphis, Tennessee;
       (7) McLean, Virginia; and
       (8) New York City, New York;
       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary has established a 
     global distance education program with online students on 
     every populated continent, and a doctoral program with 
     Mackenzie University in Sao Paulo, Brazil;
       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary is one of the largest 
     accredited theological seminaries in North America, having 
     prepared students for service in over 73 denominations, and 
     with graduates who have started no fewer than 23 theological 
     educational institutions around the world;
       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary has over 40 full-time 
     faculty members instructing over 1,500 current students in 9 
     different degree programs, readying them to serve the 
     Christian Church and all Christians with a mind for truth, a 
     life for ministry, and a heart for the Lord;
       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary graduates continue on 
     to vocations not only as pastors, but also as counselors, 
     chaplains, teachers, church planters, missionaries, campus 
     ministers, relief workers, and community leaders, thus 
     contributing greatly to

[[Page S6243]]

     the well-being of their neighbors, communities, and culture, 
     in the United States and around the world;
       Whereas Reformed Theological Seminary has been a blessing 
     to the United States and an ambassador for the Lord around 
     the world; and
       Whereas, on October 6 and 7, 2016, Reformed Theological 
     Seminary will celebrate its 50th Anniversary: Now, therefore, 
     be it
       Resolved, That the Senate--
       (1) congratulates Reformed Theological Seminary for 50 
     years of faith-inspired service;
       (2) expresses profound respect and deep appreciation for--
       (A) the transformational impact Reformed Theological 
     Seminary has had on the United States; and
       (B) the beneficent service of Reformed Theological Seminary 
     to humanity around the world; and
       (3) expresses heartfelt wishes for continued blessings and 
     achievement in the decades to come.