CONGRESSIONAL TEACHERS AWARD; Congressional Record Vol. 163, No. 53
(Extensions of Remarks - March 27, 2017)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E389]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []



                           HON. VERN BUCHANAN

                               of florida

                    in the house of representatives

                         Monday, March 27, 2017

  Mr. BUCHANAN. Mr. Speaker, I rise today in recognition of outstanding 
public school teachers in Florida's 16th Congressional District.
   I was once told that children are 25 percent of the population, but 
they are 100 percent of the future.
   And it's true. The education of a child is an investment, not only 
in that student, but in the future of our country.
   Therefore, I established the Congressional Teacher Awards to honor 
educators for their ability to teach and inspire students.
   An independent panel has chosen the following teachers from Manatee, 
Sarasota, and Hillsborough Counties to receive Florida's 16th District 
2015 Congressional Teacher Award for their accomplishments as 
   Danielle Murphy for her accomplishments as a teacher at Boyette 
Springs Elementary in Riverview
   Carol Pelletier for her accomplishments as a teacher at Sarasota 
Military Academy Prep in Sarasota
   Emilee Vermilion for her accomplishments as a teacher at Southeast 
High School in Bradenton
   On behalf of the people of Florida's 16th District I congratulate 
each of these outstanding teachers and offer my sincere appreciation 
for their service and dedication.