(Extensions of Remarks - May 01, 2018)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Extensions of Remarks]
[Pages E575-E576]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []



                        HON. PETER J. VISCLOSKY

                               of indiana

                    in the house of representatives

                          Tuesday, May 1, 2018

  Mr. VISCLOSKY. Mr. Speaker, it is with great respect and admiration 
that I rise to commend numerous exceptional leaders from Indiana who 
were honored as the Northwest Indiana Business and Industry Hall of 
Fame Class of 2018. While there were many deserving nominees, this 
year's inductees include Dr. Vidya Kora, Bill Hasse, Jeff Strack, Terry 
McMahon, Scott Albanese, and MonoSol. For their many contributions to 
the community of Northwest Indiana and beyond, these honorees were 
recognized at the 11th Annual Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, May 1, 
2018, at the Avalon Manor in Merrillville, Indiana. The Honorable Eric 
Holcomb, Governor of the State of Indiana, served as the keynote 
speaker for this special event.
  Dr. Vidya Kora is a general internist with the Franklin Clinic of 
Michigan City and also serves as a LaPorte County Commissioner. In 
addition, Dr. Kora is involved in numerous civic, charitable, and 
professional organizations. His numerous accomplishments are to be 
commended. Notably, Dr. Kora was especially influential while helping 
former Governor Mitch Daniels and state legislators expand Indiana's 
Medicaid program through the implementation of the Healthy Indiana 
Plan. Dr. Kora has also worked tirelessly to improve the school system 
in Michigan City and has assisted with establishing a public 
transportation system, which connects Michigan City, La Porte, and 
Westville. A longtime area physician, Dr. Kora opened his Michigan City 
medical practice in 1986 and has maintained an outstanding reputation 
in his field and his community since that time.
  William ``Bill'' Hasse III became the third generation owner and 
president of Hasse Construction Company, Incorporated in 1984, after 
the death of his father, William A. Hasse Jr. Due to his strong 
leadership and devotion, Bill has been successful in growing the family 
business. In the 1990's, Hasse Construction diversified and acquired 
public projects, including municipal and school projects, underground 
utility work, and projects in the healthcare industry. In addition, Mr. 
Hasse has continuously given back to the community through his work 
with the Lake County Economic Alliance, Hospice of the Calumet Area, 
and the Hammond YMCA, among others.

[[Page E576]]

  Jeff Strack is the President and CEO of Indiana Grocery Group/Strack 
& Van Til. Last year, when the parent company Central Grocers filed for 
bankruptcy, Strack & Van Til was forced to shut down numerous stores. 
Jeff was not going to lose the family business that has been around for 
almost six decades. After he and a group of investors formed Indiana 
Grocery Group and put together a successful bid to buy back Strack & 
Van Til, Mr. Strack vowed to keep it a family-owned business. Today, 
under Jeff's leadership, the grocery chain has twenty locations in 
communities throughout Northwest Indiana. In addition, Mr. Strack is 
focused on providing good jobs and assisting charitable organizations 
throughout the region.
  Terry McMahon is the owner and president of the successful accounting 
firm, McMahon and Associates, in Munster. Terry started his company in 
the 1970's with only himself and a part-time typist. Munster was a 
growing community at that time, and as the town developed, the company 
continued to grow. Today, McMahon and Associates consists of thirty 
employees and three partners, serving 600 businesses and handling 
approximately 1,300 personal income tax returns. Terry attributes his 
success to the development of positive relationships with clients and 
his outstanding employees. In addition, Mr. McMahon is known for his 
generosity and gives back to the community through various charitable 
  In 1983, Scott Albanese, owner and CEO of the Albanese Confectionery 
Group, opened his first candy store in Merrillville. After years of 
hard work and dedication, in 2000, Scott opened his second location, 
which has become the successful and popular Albanese Candy Factory and 
Outlet Store in Hobart. Under Mr. Albanese's direction, the company 
manufactures its own products, operates internationally, and continues 
to grow.
  The recipient of the Enterprise of the Year Award is Mono Sol, a 
division of Kuraray, a Japanese company that acquired the business in 
2012. MonoSol produces a patented water-soluble film used in numerous 
products and markets. Operating since 1953, the company has grown 
exponentially since the TidePod was introduced by Proctor & Gamble in 
2012. Under the direction of its CEO, P. Scott Bening, MonoSol has 
doubled its workforce since 2012 and is currently headquartered in 
Merrillville. MonoSol also maintains a plant in La Porte and two 
manufacturing facilities currently located in Portage. The company has 
diversified into other areas of its market including agricultural and 
packaging materials, as well as synthetic marble for stone products 
used in home construction. MonoSol has been a tremendous asset to the 
community of Northwest Indiana, and Mr. Bening is focused on growing 
the company in the region, a community of which he is very proud to be 
a part.
  Mr. Speaker, I ask you and my other distinguished colleagues to join 
me in commending these dedicated leaders and organizations upon their 
induction into the Northwest Indiana Business and Industry Hall of 
Fame. They are truly deserving of this honor, and for their exceptional 
leadership and commitment to the region and beyond, each of them is 
worthy of the highest praise.