(Extensions of Remarks - May 23, 2018)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Congressional Record Volume 164, Number 85 (Wednesday, May 23, 2018)]
[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E717]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []



                         HON. JAMES P. McGOVERN

                            of massachusetts

                    in the house of representatives

                        Wednesday, May 23, 2018

  Mr. McGOVERN. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize and congratulate 
a group of outstanding students from Auburn, Massachusetts.
  Students from Auburn High School's AP United States Government & 
Politics class traveled here to Washington, D.C. last month to take 
part in the ``We The People'' national finals competition. Hosted by 
the Center for Civic Education, this program teaches kids from across 
America about the importance of our founding principles. Now more than 
ever, we must teach our students about the value of public service. 
Through discussion and simulated Congressional hearings, the students 
got a firsthand look at the historical and contemporary debates that 
drive our nation's political discourse.
  Auburn High School has taken part in ``We The People'' since 2011, 
and this is already their third time to Washington. This year, the 
class participated in a daylong state competition before moving on to 
nationals, and raised over $50,000 to help cover the cost of their 
  The most important title in our democracy is that of citizen. We are 
obligated by our history to pass along to future generations the hard-
fought rights and responsibilities of that citizenship. Through their 
hard work, these students learned that our democracy is not just an 
achievement, but an unending call to build a more perfect union for 
all. They discovered the importance of civility, compromise, and 
community in our politics. And they left knowing that their voices 
really do matter here in Washington.
  Mr. Speaker, I am so proud of the hard work and determination of 
Samantha Barrell, Brendan Benevento, Zachary Billings, Matthew Bregman, 
Kayrin Brower, Jessica Chenard, Hannah Cherry, Olivia Copson, Lucas 
Daly, Enaira DaSilva, Marisa Day, Sydney Dinsdale, Amanda Doherty, 
Kathryn Dudko, Emily Frost, Jacob Landry, Brianna Leon, Savannah Louis 
Charles, Morgan Maher, Haydn McPherson, Tiffany Moen, Katelyn Norwood, 
Renee Ordway, Ana Pietrewicz, Kyle Powers, Brian Sarkisian, Jacob 
Stokes, Bridget White, and William Wright. Each of them represented 
Massachusetts with distinction and dedication, and I wish them only 
success in all their future endeavors.