Daily Digest

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Daily Digest


Chamber Action

Routine Proceedings, pages S2357–S2385

Measures Introduced: Nineteen bills and two resolutions were introduced, as follows: S. 3685–3703, and S. Res. 570–571.
Pages S2378–79

USA Freedom Reauthorization Act--Agreement: A unanimous-consent agreement was reached providing that at approximately 10 a.m., on Wednesday, May 13, 2020, Senate begin consideration of H.R. 6172, to amend the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 to prohibit the production of certain business records, under the order of March 16, 2020; provided further, that at 12 noon, Senate vote on or in relation to the McConnell side-by-side amendment to the Daines amendment, if offered; and that following the disposition of the McConnell amendment, Senate vote on or in relation to the Daines amendment.
Page S2384

Nominations Confirmed: Senate confirmed the following nominations:

By 61 yeas 32 nays (Vote No. EX. 86), Brian D. Montgomery, of Texas, to be Deputy Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.
Pages S2363–64

By 62 yeas 31 nays (Vote No. EX. 88), Troy D. Edgar, of California, to be Chief Financial Officer, Department of Homeland Security.
Pages S2365–74

During consideration of this nomination today, Senate also took the following action:

By 62 yeas to 31 nays (Vote No. EX. 87), Senate agreed to the motion to close further debate on the nomination.
Page S2365

Executive Communications:
Pages S2377–78

Executive Reports of Committees:
Page S2378

Additional Cosponsors:
Pages S2379–80

Statements on Introduced Bills/Resolutions:
Pages S2380–82

Additional Statements:
Pages S2376–77

Authorities for Committees to Meet:
Page S2383

Record Votes: Three record votes were taken today. (Total--88)
Pages S2364–65, S2373–74

Adjournment: Senate convened at 10:30 a.m. and adjourned at 6:39 p.m., until 10 a.m. on Wednesday, May 13, 2020. (For Senate's program, see the remarks of the Majority Leader in today's Record on page S2385.)

Committee Meetings

(Committees not listed did not meet)


Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs: Committee concluded an oversight hearing to examine financial regulators, including S. 3560, to amend the Truth in Lending Act to extend the consumer credit protections provided to members of the Armed Forces and their dependents under title 10, United States Code, to all consumers, after receiving testimony from Randal K. Quarles, Vice Chair for Supervision, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; Joseph M. Otting, Comptroller of the Currency, Department of the Treasury; Jelena McWilliams, Chairman, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; and Rodney E. Hood, Chairman, National Credit Union Administration.


Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs: Committee ordered favorably reported the nominations of Brian D. Miller, of Virginia, to be Special Inspector General for Pandemic Recovery, Department of the Treasury, and Dana T. Wade, of the District of Columbia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.


Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions: Committee concluded a hearing to examine COVID–19, focusing on safely getting back to work and back to school, after receiving testimony from Anthony S. Fauci, Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, Robert R. Redfield, Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Admiral Brett P. Giroir, Assistant Secretary for Health, and Stephen M. Hahn, Commissioner of Food and Drugs, Food and Drug Administration, all of the Department of Health and Human Services.



Committee on the Judiciary: Committee concluded a hearing to examine liability during the COVID–19 pandemic, after receiving testimony from Kevin Smartt, Kwik Chek Food Stores Inc., Spicewood, Texas; Anthony Perrone, United Food and Commercial Workers International Union, Rebecca Dixon, National Employment Law Project, and David Vladeck, Georgetown University Law Center, all of Washington, D.C.; Larry Leroy Tyner, Jr., Texas Christian University, Fort Worth; and Helen Hill, Explore Charleston, Charleston, South Carolina.

House of Representatives

Chamber Action

Public Bills and Resolutions Introduced: 49 public bills, H.R. 6799–6847; and 2 resolutions, H.J. Res. 89 and H. Res. 964, were introduced.
Pages H1990–93

Additional Cosponsors:
Pages H1994–95

Reports Filed: There were no reports filed today.

Speaker: Read a letter from the Speaker wherein she appointed Representative Trone to act as Speaker pro tempore for today.
Page H1989

Commission on International Religious Freedom--Reappointment: The Chair announced the Speaker's reappointment of the following individuals on the part of the House to the Commission on International Religious Freedom for a term effective May 14, 2020, and ending May 14, 2022: Ms. Anurima Bhargava of Chicago, Illinois, and Dr. James W. Carr of Searcy, Arkansas.
Page H1989

Senate Referral: S. 249 was held at the desk.

Senate Message: Message received from the Senate by the Clerk and subsequently presented to the House today appears on page 1989.

Quorum Calls--Votes: There were no Yea and Nay votes, and there were no Recorded votes. There were no quorum calls.

Adjournment: The House met at 12 noon and adjourned at 12:03 p.m.

Committee Meetings

No hearings were held.

Joint Meetings

No joint committee meetings were held.


MAY 13, 2020

(Committee meetings are open unless otherwise indicated)


Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation: to hold hearings to examine the state of broadband amid the COVID–19 pandemic, 10 a.m., SD–G50.

Committee on Foreign Relations: to hold hearings to examine the nominations of Natalie E. Brown, of Nebraska, to be Ambassador to the Republic of Uganda, Sandra E. Clark, of Maryland, to be Ambassador to Burkina Faso, William Ellison Grayson, of California, to be Ambassador to the Republic of Estonia, Henry T. Wooster, of Virginia, to be Ambassador to the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, all of the Department of State, and Ramsey Coats Day, of Virginia, to be an Assistant Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development, 2:30 p.m., VTC.

Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs: to hold hearings to examine evolving the United States Cybersecurity strategy and posture, focusing on reviewing the Cyberspace Solarium Commission Report, 9:30 a.m., WEBEX.

Select Committee on Intelligence: to hold closed hearings to examine certain intelligence matters, 2 p.m., SVC–217.


No hearings are scheduled.


Next Meeting of the

10 a.m., Wednesday, May 13

Senate Chamber

Program for Wednesday: Senate will begin consideration of H.R. 6172, USA FREEDOM Reauthorization Act.

At 12 noon, Senate will vote on or in relation to the McConnell or designee side-by-side amendment to the Daines-Wyden amendment (re: Sec. 215 Web Browser/Search History Data Collection Prohibition), and in relation to Daines-Wyden amendment.

At approximately 4 p.m., Senate is expected to vote on or in relation to the McConnell or designee side-by-side amendment, if offered, to the Lee-Leahy amendment (re: Amicus Reform and Exculpatory Evidence), and in relation to the Lee-Leahy amendment.

Next Meeting of the

9:30 a.m., Wednesday, May 13

House Chamber

Program for Wednesday: House will meet in Pro Forma session at 9:30 a.m.

Extensions of Remarks, as inserted in this issue


Axne, Cynthia, Iowa, E438

Burgess, Michael C., Tex., E439

Calvert, Ken, Calif., E440

Carter, Earl L. ``Buddy'', Ga., E437, E439, E441

Gianforte, Greg, Mont., E439, E441

Hastings, Alcee L., Fla., E442

Hill, J. French, Ark., E438

Langevin, James R., R.I., E441

Levin, Mike, Calif., E437

Olson, Pete, Tex., E439

Perlmutter, Ed, Colo., E439

Raskin, Jamie, Md., E437, E440

Thompson, Bennie G., Miss., E437, E438, E440, E441

Webster, Daniel, Fla., E442